Meet Dr Jayakumar, MP-elect from Thiruvallur

Dr K Jayakumar of the INC unseated the incumbent two-time MP from ADMK to win Thiruvallur. He has previously served as the Namakkal MLA.

Dr K Jayakumar of Congress defeated the incumbent and two-time MP P Venugopal of the ADMK. The other challenger in the fray was Makkal Needhi Maiam’s M Logarangan.

Thiruvallur shares its border with Andhra Pradesh and has a  sizeable Telugu population in the constituency. With a mix of urban and rural localities, Thiruvallur has an average literacy rate of 83 percent.

Thiruvallur Parliamentary constituency is comprised of six assembly constituencies — Madhavaram, Poonamallee, Avadi, Ponneri, Gummidipoondi and Thiruvallur. Thiruvallur was carved out as a separate constituency in 2008 after delimitation.

A total of 20 candidates are contesting from various political parties and as independent candidates fromThiruvallur. According to the election commission of India’s website, the constituency has a total of 1946242 voters: 961864 male, 984032 female and 346 others.

The constituency went to polls on April 18, 2019 in the second phase of the 17th Lok Sabha elections. Thiruvallur registered 70.36% voter turnout.

S.No Candidate Name of Party Number of votes Vote share
1 Dr K Jayakumar INC 767292 54.49
2 Dr P Venugopal ADMK 410337 29.14
3 Logarangan M MNM 73731 5.24

Winner: Dr K Jayakumar

Runner-up: Dr P Venugopal

Margin of victory: 365955 votes


Dr K Jayakumar, 69, of the INC has many degrees to his name — B E, M.Tech, two PG diplomas and a PhD. He has previously served as MLA twice from the Namakkal constituency. He is an educationist and runs the Amirtham Group of Institutions.

More details can be found here in the affidavit filed with the Election Commission.

Phone: 9444020571



Number of criminal cases: None

Financial details of candidate

Movable Assets Rs 5,42,269
Immovable Assets Rs 2,40,41,500
Liabilities Nil

Promises for the constituency

Dr Jayakumar’s poll promises were based on the infrastructure needs of the constituency.

The MP promised that the connectivity issues faced by the constituency can be addressed through the completion of a by-pass road connecting  Tirupati and Poonamallee.

For greater connectivity, there is a need to extend metro rail and MRTS facilities to the constituency. Dr Jayakumar has assured voters of bringing metro rail to MAdhavaram and upgrade the MRTS facility in Poonamallee.

On the subject of education, the MP has stated that he intends to work to bring a government medical college and a government arts college to his constituency.

With increasing risk of floods, the MP has also promised the upgradation of underground drainage facilities across Thiruvallur.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

How Mumbaikars can register civic complaints and ensure BMC action

BMC's system to register civic complaints is good, but the Blue Ribbon Movement is trying to improve redressal for a better and cleaner Mumbai.

In early January, Dahisar resident Pankati noticed garbage being thrown behind one of the electric junction boxes in Kandarpada, her neighbourhood. It had accumulated over a few weeks. This was not a garbage collection point and it used to be clean before. She decided to raise a civic complaint on that garbage issue using the ‘MyBMC Assist’ WhatsApp Chatbot, which is run by the Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC). Pankati, a volunteer with the Blue Ribbon Movement, found garbage being dumped behind an electric junction box in Khandarpada. Pic: Aniruddha Gaonkar After waiting for over a month, the garbage was still…

Similar Story

City Buzz: Delhi ranks 350th in global index | Heat wave grips north… and more

In other news: Heat-related illnesses claim lives; Urban women in salaried jobs at 6-yr low and Delhi issues first bus aggregator licence.

Delhi ranks 350 in global index; no Indian city in top 300 Oxford Economics’ new ‘Global Cities Index’ report ranks Delhi at 350, the highest among 91 Indian cities. This was the first edition of the index, released on 21st May by the global advisory firm, Oxford Economics, which is assessing metropolitan cities across 163 countries on five parameters - economics, human capital, quality of life, environment, and governance. The top three cities in the list are New York, London and San Jose. In the category of human capital, which “encompasses the collective knowledge and skills of a city’s population,” measured…