Special Project: Karnataka Assembly Elections 2013, Bangalore

Your 28 Bengaluru MLAs, the winners

Find your candidate

Who is standing for elections from your area, their profiles and what residents think.

Bangalore South * Basavanagudi Bommanahalli * BTM Layout * Byatrayanapura * Chickpet * Jayanagar * K R Puram * Mahadevapura * Mahalakshmi Layout * Malleshwaram * Pulikeshi Nagar * Rajaji Nagar * Sarvagnanagar Shantinagar Shivaji Nagar Yeshwanthpur



We acknowledge Bangalore Political Action Committee (B.PAC) for underwriting part of the costs for Citizen Matters’ data gathering and journalism for Karnataka Assembly Elections – 2013, Bangalore.

For more on public funded journalism, click here.


Bangalore bids goodbye to apathy, with a voter turnout of 58%

Amid the usual problems of missing names from voter rolls and proxy-voting threats, people of namma city came out and voted in large numbers than ever before, on the Big Day.

“Not enough clamour from citizens for reforms in city governance”

Rajeev Chandrasekhar says he wants the voters to be aware of the real direction required for Bangalore, about the positions of the MLA candidate and political parties, about the real reforms required in city governance

Professor offers political internships

IIMB Professor and Congress Party leader Rajeev Gowda is looking for interns interested in getting first-hand experience of the practical aspects of electoral politics.

Big names try to change the elections game

BPAC, founded by prominent Bangaloreans including Mohandas Pai and Kiran Mazumdar Shaw, wants to identify and support strong election candidates. Santosh Hegde, B N Vijayakumar and Rajeev Gowda share their thoughts too.


Not voting makes a difference too – especially for your kids

When elections come around, all of us become political pundits with opinions and lamentations. But Priya Ramasubban offers a practical look at things on the ground.

Voting is better than blaming the system

Samaya TV CEO shares how to choose right candidates in this election and why one should vote, even when there are no apparent suitable candidates.

Make your vote count for a better Namma Bengaluru »

Rajeev Chandrasekhar, Rajya Sabha MP from Bangalore, reflects on what to consider while voting in this election..

Think it’s the government’s job to run the country while you run your life?»

You think your life is far removed from politics, that you are getting on with your life and your interest in the democratic procedure consists of giving a thumbs up or down to Arnab and Rajdeep grilling a politician?.

What does one vote mean? »

As low as 10% of the total votes can win a neta a nice chair, a plot, a VIP status, an entourage whose salaries are paid by our taxes and the most powerful weapon – a chance to be in the legislature where our fate can be decided..

Come on Bangalore, this is a call for action»

Mohandas Pai exhorts citizens to register enmass as voters for the coming state elections. .

Karnataka’s dance of democracy: Naavu ready, Neevu barteera?

Change requires participation in democratic processes, not just exercise of voting rights; as the state readies for the 2013 Assembly elections, how can you engage yourself to make a difference?

Your MLA

Click here to get data on your MLA»

What have Bangalore MLAs been doing? »

Our project collects information on Bangalore’s MLAs – their background, performance, work record and more.

Info for Voters

Polling booths open at 7am. Get ready to vote on Sunday »

How to find your name in the rolls? What if you don’t have an EPIC/voter ID card? How to find your polling booth? Who are the candidates? How to select the best?

Name on roll, but no EPIC card? Don’t worry»

What if you don’t find any deserving candidate?

How to exercise right of not voting – Learn about 49-O option.

Complain about election misconduct from your cellphone »


Voter roll registration closed on Apr 7th »

From Form 6 to Voter ID card »

Did you ever wonder how your name gets on the voter rolls in Bengaluru? Here’s a quick run through, slideshow included

Data & Analysis

Karnataka political parties raise 1000s of crores, somehow»

INC, BJP, JDS and other parties receive huge sums of money as donations from corporates and individuals – who has given how much?

New voter lists: Lakhs still missing! »

Election on May 5th, EC gets set »

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Know your MP — Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma, West Delhi

Parvesh Verma, who is the son of former Delhi chief minister Sahib Singh Verma, has made rapid progress in the BJP in past decade.

Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma is the incumbent MP for West Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency. He is a member of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party and has won from West Delhi twice, in 2014 and 2019. Parvesh Verma is one of the many rising young stars in the BJP, who got elected in 2014 at the age of 36. He is the son of the former chief minister of Delhi, Sahib Singh Verma. He also served as an MLA, getting elected from Mehrauli in 2013. With the rise of Narendra Modi and the advent of AAP in Delhi, Verma got elected…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Know your MP – Manoj Kumar Tiwari, North East Delhi

Former Bhojpuri actor Manoj Kumar Tiwari has represented the North East Delhi constituency for two consecutive terms. A look at his last tenure

Manoj Kumar Tiwari is a two-time Lok Sabha member representing the North East Delhi constituency. He was an actor-singer in the Bhojpuri film industry. He began his political career with the Samajwadi Party; he contested and lost the 2009 Lok Sabha election from Gorakhpur constituency in Uttar Pradesh. He then joined the BJP in 2013, contesting the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections from North East Delhi Constituency, and emerging victorious in both.   Read more: Lok Sabha 2024: A people’s manifesto for urban areas In 2019, Tiwari got 53.9% of the 16,35,204 votes cast in the constituency, which was 25%…