Water purifier in JP Nagar Park

This fortnight's JP Nagar news round-up.

Water purifier in JP Nagar Park

A water purifier attached to a 300 litre water tank has been installed in JP Nagar Dhanvantari Park on May 27th. This was an initiative of Canara Bank, JP Nagar Branch, in association with JP Nagar Citizens Association.

Children drinking water at the park. Pic: Chetan Boray.

BBMP South Zone Horticulture Superintendent, Nagappa Atturkar says “Even though we have water facility in all the parks there is no water purifier. It is costly to invest on water purifiers, so we so encourage such initiatives.” He also confirmed that this is the first time, a water purifier has been installed in BBMP parks.

S K Hota who is a Chief Manager of Canara Bank, JP Nagar, inaugurated it. Hota says “We have done it under the Social Welfare scheme of  Canara Bank and the fund is utilised for such initiatives.”

Preema Rao, who is a Vice President of  J P Nagar Citizens Association says, “This is done form our members co- operation and we are looking active participation from citizens.”

Ramola who is a resident of J P Nagar says "We should thank Canara Bank who took interest to install it and because of this we may go another two rounds extra while walking."

Police blotter

Laptop stolen
A resident of Dollars Colony, JP Nagar had kept a  laptop near the window of her room only to find it missing the next morning on May 6th. The laptop was worth Rs 40,000.

Ten minutes to steal a vehicle
A Honda Activa, which was parked in Oxford College Parking lot, went missing on May 27th. The owner has filed a complaint, saying that he parked his two-wheeler around 1 pm but came back after 10 minutes and found it to be missing.

Mid-day thieves
At around 12.30 pm of May 28th,  a two-wheeler, Honda Dio, parked in front of State Bank of Mysore near Ragi Gudda was stolen. The two-wheeler belonged to a resident of JP Nagar 2nd phase.

Complaint against boss
A former employee of a garment lodged a complaint in JP Nagar Police Station against her boss for failing to give her due salary and release letter.

Information gathered from JP Nagar police  station   ⊕

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Elections 2024: What Chennai residents and civic groups want their MPs to address

Civic organisations in Chennai have voiced several concerns and put forward demands for clean air, better mobility, housing and fisher welfare.

With the 2024 Lok Sabha elections around the corner, the candidates contesting in the polls are busy campaigning to garner votes. Every one of them makes their poll promises during these campaigns, but very few of these are fulfilled in reality. Voters in the city want pending issues to be addressed. Meanwhile, various civic groups in the city have a plethora of demands that they are putting forward for the political parties and their candidates representing the different constituencies in Chennai. Here are a few such demands that the civic groups in Chennai would like to highlight for the progress…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Chennai North — Know your constituency and candidates

North Chennai constituency has ports and polluting industries that endanger the ecology and have always been in conflict with the residents here.

Chennai North is a Lok Sabha constituency composed of the assembly segments including Royapuram, Kolathur, T.V.K.Nagar, Perambur, Thiruvottiyur and Dr Radhakrishnan Nagar. This constituency elected its first Member of Parliament in 1957. The incumbent MP is Dr. Kalanidhi Veeraswamy. Chennai North is not only home to many red-category industries that stretch from North Chennai through Manali to Ennore but also hosts the city’s largest garbage dump — Kodungaiyur dump yard. The constituency has two coal-fired power plants and their ash dumps, coal stacking yards, a 10.5 million tonnes/year petroleum refinery, dozens of petrochemical industries, fertiliser plants, three large ports and…