Velachery : Film stars in debut elections promise better governance

To view map, see:

The first Assembly Election of this newly formed constituency was held in 2011.

Velachery was carved out of Tambaram constituency as part of the delimitation process in 2008. AIADMK’s M.K. Ashok was the first MLA of Velachery, which is one of the largest constituencies in Chennai. There are over 2.96 lakh voters from Thiruvanmiyur, Adyar,  Adyar,  Alandur, Pallikaranai, Perungudi and Velachery.


  • Munusamy (AIADMK)
  • V.N. Rajan (DMDK)
  • Vagai Chandarasekar (DMK)
  • Sritharan (BJP)
  • Vinobha Bhoopathi (PMK)
  • Chandrasekharan (NTK)
  • A Chanderan (Makkal Manadu Katchi)
  • Selva Kumar (Gandhiyan Peoples’ Party)


  • Raja Krishnamoorthy ‘Kitty’
  • Prabhu
  • Sundaram
  • Eswaran
  • Shanta Kumar
  • Suresh Kumar
  • Pelumalai
  • Gunasekaran
  • Jayaseelan
  • Kumar
  • Saminathan
  • Jeyaraj
  • Sundarajan
  • Ravikumar
  • Umashankar
  • Sudarsan Rajan
  • Ponnudurai Atdithan

Know your candidates

M.C.  Munusamy (AIADMK)

M.C. Munusamy is the councillor of Ward 192. He has been contesting in local body elections since 1996, and was elected in 2011. Even as AIADMK campaigns hard to retain this constituency, its candidate is  facing charges for alleged encroachment of 72 sq. ft. of land owned by the Corporation of Chennai

Vagai Chandrasekar (DMK)

Vagai Chandrasekar is an actor who has been in the film industry for the last 25 years, and has around  200 films to his credit. He is making his political debut in one of the worst affected areas during the december floods with the promise ‘to restore it to its former self’. His promises include 4Ps -primary health centres, parking lots, playgrounds, and proper drainage. He had won the National award for the ‘Best Supporting Actor’ in 2002.

‘Kitty’ Raja Krishnamoorthy (IND)

Raja Krishnamoorthy is another actor who is making his political debut in Velachery constituency.His campaign is focused on the theme ‘politics through good governance and politics for a good society’. His promises include a 24×7 direct constituency helpline to register complaints and access government services.He suggests an ‘MLA Advisory Committee’ of  locality/ward-wise representatives chosen by the voters. If elected Mr. Raja promises to hold regular grievance camps, timely redressal of issues, and a platform for face-to-face interaction with the MLA and government officials from all departments.

According to Mr. Raja, he was part of the India Against Corruption Movement since 2011.

He was offered the South Chennai Lok Sabha Parliamentary seat by the Aam Aadmi Party in the 2014 elections which he declined. He has been working in the film industry for around 30 years. Mr. Raja is also an HR consultant and ‘motivational speaker’.

2011 Results

Winner Party Votes          Status
Ashok M.K. AIADMK 82145 Wins
Jayaraman M PMK 50425 Loses

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Elections 2024: What Chennai residents and civic groups want their MPs to address

Civic organisations in Chennai have voiced several concerns and put forward demands for clean air, better mobility, housing and fisher welfare.

With the 2024 Lok Sabha elections around the corner, the candidates contesting in the polls are busy campaigning to garner votes. Every one of them makes their poll promises during these campaigns, but very few of these are fulfilled in reality. Voters in the city want pending issues to be addressed. Meanwhile, various civic groups in the city have a plethora of demands that they are putting forward for the political parties and their candidates representing the different constituencies in Chennai. Here are a few such demands that the civic groups in Chennai would like to highlight for the progress…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Chennai North — Know your constituency and candidates

North Chennai constituency has ports and polluting industries that endanger the ecology and have always been in conflict with the residents here.

Chennai North is a Lok Sabha constituency composed of the assembly segments including Royapuram, Kolathur, T.V.K.Nagar, Perambur, Thiruvottiyur and Dr Radhakrishnan Nagar. This constituency elected its first Member of Parliament in 1957. The incumbent MP is Dr. Kalanidhi Veeraswamy. Chennai North is not only home to many red-category industries that stretch from North Chennai through Manali to Ennore but also hosts the city’s largest garbage dump — Kodungaiyur dump yard. The constituency has two coal-fired power plants and their ash dumps, coal stacking yards, a 10.5 million tonnes/year petroleum refinery, dozens of petrochemical industries, fertiliser plants, three large ports and…