Safety at your fingertips with the Traffic Police’s bSafe app

Tired of errant auto drivers taking you for a ride? Sick of incessant honking when you are stuck in traffic? You can easily report it to the Traffic Police now!

Bengaluru is the IT hub of India, and most people here are becoming tech-savvy.  Bengaluru is today a global name, and with the changing stature of the city, the Bengaluru Traffic Police (BTP) too is striving to do its best.  Given the widespread use of technology, BTP has decided to use technology to serve citizens better.

BTP frequently receives many complaints against auto drivers from the public—refusal to go on hire, demanding excess fare, misbehaving and other issues—through its various communication channels. In order to address citizens’ problems effectively, BTP has designed, developed and launched a mobile application called bSafe for the benefit of the public.

The bSafe app allows commuters to communication with the BTP easily. Pic: BTP

BTP launched the bSafe mobile application at the Traffic Management Centre on March 19th. Dr Ramegowda IAS, Commissioner for Transport and Road Safety released the BSafe app. K Ramachandra Rao IPS, Inspector General of Police and Commissioner for Traffic and Road Safety, Karnataka State was the Guest of Honour. The Additional Commissioner of Police, Traffic Dr MA Saleem, was also present at the launch, as were representatives from various auto rickshaw unions. Zafar, an honest auto driver was also honoured during the event.

What is the bSafe app?

The bSafe app is ideal for those individuals commuting by auto rickshaws and taxis. With the bSafe app, commuters can:

  • Registers complaints

  • Estimate the fare

  • Map the route they are travelling on

  • Inform the police about incessant honking

  • Alert the police in case of issues with personal safety via means of a Panic Button

Some features of the bSafe app. Pic: BTP

BTP says that users can register complaints in a matter of seconds through the bSafe app. Once a complaint is placed, users can keep a track of what action has been taken through means of a reference number. This also saves citizens from the hassle of visiting the police station and waiting to lodge a complaint.

bSafe could go a long way in ensuring the safety of passengers in general, and women in particular, by literally bringing safety at citizens’ fingertips.

To download the app, visit



bSafe-App (PDF)

bSafe-App (Text)

Related Articles

Harassed by auto drivers? Now you can do something.
Bangalore Traffic Police – a new Android app for Bangalore’s road users
Don’t panic – these mobile apps can get you out of danger

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Will prioritise ORR, suburban rail: Mansoor Ali Khan, Congress candidate, Bangalore Central

Mansoor Ali Khan claims that it's time for a 'guarantee wave', not a 'Modi wave'. He says he will prioritise education and infrastructure.

Mansoor Ali Khan, from Indian National Congress (INC), is all set to contest for Bangalore Central Parliamentary Constituency this Lok Sabha Elections. In an interview with Citizen Matters, Mansoor spoke about his plans for his constituency if he gets elected as MP and the key issues he would like to address. Mansoor Ali Khan: Political family, educational entrepreneur Mansoor Ali Khan is the son of K. Rahman Khan, who is a veteran politician belonging to the Indian National Congress (INC) and a former Union Minister of Minority Affairs and Ex-Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha. Mansoor was one of the two…

Similar Story

Stalled projects, discrimination by Centre hurting Mumbai: Incumbent MP Arvind Sawant

Arvind Sawant is contesting for the third time from Mumbai South and is confident of winning the seat for Uddhav Thackeray's Sena.

Arvind Sawant, who has served two terms as the MP from Mumbai South, is raring to go as he prepares to fight for a third term. His opponents are a divided house and the official candidate is yet to be announced here. Leaders such as Rahul Narwekar, Mangal Prabhat Lodha, Yeshwant Jadhav are eyeing this seat. So is Milind Deora, who has already been nominated to the Rajya Sabha now and had previously lost to Sawant in the two Lok Sabha elections in 2014 and 2019.  Mumbai South is comprised of the assembly constituencies of Colaba, Mumbadevi, Byculla, Malabar Hill,…