Should ‘Action Taken’ reports on government audits be made mandatory?

This webinar will provide insights into the role of the Comptroller and Auditor General of India (CAG), India's statutory watchdog agency.

An informed citizenry is the hallmark of a mature democracy. Hence, institutions or mechanisms that empower citizens, by providing feedback on the working of government, are essential pillars of democracy.

Citizen Matters has published a series of explainers by experts from the Comptroller and Auditor General of India (CAG), India’s statutory watchdog agency. It is responsible for the performance audit of government functions/departments.

CAG reports have covered a wide range of subjects: health, education, road safety, toll, guidance value of property, mining, construction workers’ welfare, etc. The articles focus on the performance of overall state finances with respect to State PSUs, Departments, Autonomous Bodies, etc. The receipt of grants from the Government has also been detailed.

Read more: BBMP pours 90 lakhs down the incomplete drain

All these reports have been tabled in the assembly and are in the public domain.

  • Which are the reports that are relevant to us, as active citizens of Bengaluru?
  • What can we learn from these reports?
  • What happens to CAG’s recommendations and how to track what happens on the ground through action taken reports?

To discuss this, Citizen Matters, Bengaluru chapter, is organising a webinar, titled ‘How to make governments accountable?’, on September 27th, Tuesday, at 5.30 pm. The webinar will be followed by a brief Q&A session open to participants.

How to make governments accountable Citizen Matters Webinar poster
How to make governments accountable? A panel discussion. Pic: Citizen Matters

Read more: Bengaluru lacks buffer zones, raja kaluves, data and will to protect lakes: CAG

Event details

Event Title: How to make governments accountable

Date: September 27, 2022, Tuesday

Time: 5:30 pm

Register here:

(The webinar will be followed by a brief Q&A session open to participants.)


  • E P Nivedita – Nivedita is a civil servant in the Indian Audit and Accounts Service (IAAS) – Batch of 1993
  • Himanshu Upadhyaya – Assistant Professor at Azim Premji University
  • Anjali Saini – Member of Whitefield Rising
  • T R Gopalakrishnan – Consulting Editor, Citizen Matters – moderator

Also read


  1. G R Gururaj says:

    Though rains & Storm Water Drain annual feature has become common and SWD impact has been brought out neatly by CAG in its Annual Report and has created havoc to general public.. the subject matter drains as the time passes

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Party hopping candidates, perplexed voters and a city at risk

Often criticised for their apathy during elections, Mumbaikars face politically unstable and unusual alliances to choose from this elections.

Finally, it is that time again, after five years. Voting for the 18th Lok Sabha is on May 20th for Mumbai and people are watching the high-pitched campaigns by candidates. And many voters β€” young and old β€” are perplexed at political developments over the past few months and years.  It is hard to tell when it started, or that it was always there. At one time, defecting to another political party was looked down upon. Political leaders who party-hopped were quizzed by the media, questioned by the people at public meetings and had to work doubly hard to convince…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Did the government deliver on promises of jobs and employment?

As Mumbai, Thane, Palghar and Kalyan get ready to vote on May 20th, a look at the government's performance on promises of jobs and employment.

In the 4th phase of the Lok Sabha Elections, among other regions in India, six constituencies of Mumbai (city and suburban), Thane, Kalyan and Palghar will vote on May 20th. As the campaign peaks and promises fly from every leader and candidate, voters are getting ready to cast their precious vote. Making an informed choice, is the first step towards strengthening democracy and ensuring sustainable and equitable life for all. Mumbai Votes, a not-for-profit, independent info-bank, conducts research on election manifestos, party promises, their implementation over the years and sector wise performance of different political parties. In the run up…