BBMP polls to be held on August 22nd

The State Election Commission has declared BBMP elections for the second time. Polls will now be held on August 22nd. The Supreme Court also clarified that the eight weeks time granted earlier, was applicable from July 2nd.

After a long court battle, the State Election Commission has declared BBMP polls for the second time. According to the fresh calendar of events, BBMP polls will be held on August 22nd, and model code of conduct will be in effect from July 17th.

State Election Commissioner P N Sreenivasachari in a press meet on Thursday, declared the freshly prepared election schedule. During the hearing of the election related petition in the High Court on July 13th, the SEC had assured the HC that it would submit the fresh election schedule by Friday.

Announcing the calendar of events, Sreenivasachari said that the election would be held in a single phase. 

  • August 3rd: BBMP Commissioner to issue election notification
  • August 10th: Last date for filing nominations
  • August 10th: Last date for citizens to enrol on the voters list (Click here to know how)
  • August 11th: Nominations scrutiny
  • August 13th: Last date for withdrawing nominations
  • August 22nd: Poll day
  • August 25th: Counting of votes 

SC clarifies on poll date

Meanwhile, the Supreme Court on Thursday, clarified to the State government that the eight weeks time granted to hold election was applicable from July 2nd. The State government had filed a petition in the Supreme Court this week, seeking clarification from the apex court on its previous order on BBMP election. The government sought to know whether the eight week deadline applied from July 2nd (day of judgment) or from August 5th (the day election was supposed to be held according to SEC’s first calendar of events).

When the government attempted to convince the SC division bench to extend the deadline, by citing BBMP restructuring as the reason, the SC directed the government to give its explanation before the High Court, when the BBMP election case comes up for hearing on Friday July 17th.

Related Articles

If you are contesting BBMP elections, now reach out to voters for free!
Feeling Bengaluru’s pulse with Citizen Matters pre-BBMP poll survey!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Push government to implement all welfare measures in Street Vendors Act : Lekha Adavi

Lekha Adavi, a member of AICTU, says that without BBMP elections, there are no corporators to address the issues of street vendors.

(In part 1 of the interview series, Lekha Adavi, member of the All India Centre of Trade Unions (AICTU), spoke about the effects of climate change on Bengaluru’s street vendors. In part 2, she highlights how The Street Vendors Act (Protection of Livelihood and Regulation of street vending) 2014 falls short in its implementation) Excerpts: How do you engage with local authorities or municipal agencies to raise awareness of the challenges faced by street vendors during temperature surges? What responses or support do they provide? Lekha: Well, they don't respond to any of our demands. In Bengaluru, the BBMP elections…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…