BBMP Elections 2015: Special coverage by Citizen Matters

Know more about your zones, wards and candidates, complaints, news — all in one place! This is your go-to page for the BBMP elections 2015.

News Tracker


Congress-JDS coalition wins BBMP Mayor’s seat

The 260-member juggernaut: Will it drive BBMP haywire?

Answers to FAQs on BBMP Mayoral elections

How much richer have the re-elected corporators become in five years?

B.PAC asks BBMP corporators to take oath: “Na Khaoonga, Na Khane Dunga”

View more


Set to vote? Here’s a quick guide

Look for your name in the electoral roll

Locate your polling booth

Full list of candidates

Candidate affidavits

A guide to Bangalore’s civic agencies


Congress | BJP | JDS

Candidate debates

Ward 12: Shettihalli

Ward 19: Sanjay Nagar

Ward 149: Varthur

Ward 163: Katriguppe

Ward 184: Uttarahalli

Pre-poll survey results

Garbage and potholes top the list of problems in Bengaluru. The survey also shows that most respondents don’t care for the candidate’s party or caste.

>> Read more.


In the BBMP polls, Modi is not a factor: Prakash Belawadi

No party has performed well in the last few years: Mohandas Pai

I want a non-corrupt BBMP, hence I support BJP: MP Rajeev Chandrasekhar

Initiating financial discipline in BBMP is my achievement: T M Vijay Bhaskar


Citizen Matters Special

Bengaluru City Council: News and Analysis

The BBMP Elections 2015 were held on Saturday August 22nd. While there was much talk of people wanting to see change in Bengaluru, the final voter turnout was only 44 per cent. Apathy, poor quality of candidates, issues with the voter roll, even the weather, were cited as reasons for the poor turnout.

Results were finally annouced on Tuesday August 25th and saw BJP take the reins of the city council once again with a simple majority of 100 seats. Congress trailed them with 75 seats, followed by JDS with 14 seats, and Others (Independent candidates + Other parties) with 8 seats.

Click here to view the results of the BBMP Elections 2015.

Pre-election coverage

For each zone, we mapped ward details, past council details, number of voters, etc. For some select wards, we had details about the state of the ward — the demographics, infrastructure details, the tenders and development works executed, issues raised by citizens and more. We also added details of contesting candidates as we got info.

Click on the map or on the zone/ward names for more information.

We thank Janaagraha Centre for Citizenship and Democracy and BBMP Restructuring Committee for the data they shared with us, and Thejesh GN for the ward maps. Their help enabled us to form pages for BBMP Elections 2015.

Please note: If you are journalist and have used the resources on this page to produce articles for your newspaper, do remember to credit Oorvani Foundation/Citizen Matters appropriately. Thanks.


Sponsor our Journalism!

An independent coverage of the elections is essential to ensure that citizens get an unbiased outlook on those standing for the elections.

And Citizen Matters presented just that – a non-partisan, independent account of all the Elections News in Bengaluru.

If you found our coverage of the BBMP Elections 2015 useful and want to support our work, here’s how you can help us: Make a donation to Oorvani Foundation.  

Donations are eligible for 50% deduction under Section 80G.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…