Ex-cop to try his luck from Bangalore North yet again

A peek into the life of JD(S) candidate for Bangalore North, Abdul Azeem.

Abdul Azeem, the JD(S) State General Secretary, served as a police officer for more than 25 years, before he retired voluntarily and joined politics. He was quoted as saying he joined politics to do more to serve the people.

Brief profile

Name: Abdul Azeem

Party: JD(S)

Education: LL.B, M A Economics  

Profession: Retired government employee, agriculturist

Age: 61

Assets: Rs 8,10,30,126 (2013)

Contact Details:

Address: No. 3, 2nd F Main, 60 Feet Road, Bhoopasandra EXNT. Sanjaynagar, Bangalore – 560094
Email ID: contact@abdulazeem.in / azeem91152@yahoo.com
Website: http://abdulazeem.in/
Phone: 91 9632366186 / 9901987858 / 23410843

The journey

Born in Dhanagur Village of Mandya District,  Azeem has completed most of his education in Bangalore. He joined the Police Department in 1975 as a Sub Inspector of Police. He went on to become a Circle Inspector of Police and in 2002, Assistant Commissioner of Police. As Assistant Commissioner of Police – Crime Branch, he was known as the ‘Sherlock Holmes of Bangalore’.

He joined the JD(S) in 2004 and in 2006, was elected as an MLC from JD(S). His position in the party has had its fair share of politics. In 2012, he had differences with H D Kumaraswamy and quit from the post of JDS Legislative Party Secretary and later quit the party. He rejoined the party in December 2012.

He stood for the Assembly elections from Hebbal constituency where he got lesser votes than the BJP and INC candidates. His manifesto mentions key areas of education, health care, civic amenities, environment and checks on corruption, and his top priorities for the city are water, waste management and better urban planning. In an interview to Citizen Matters before the Assembly elections he said he would eradicate goondaism in Bangalore.

Related Articles

When an artiste makes her arangetram in politics
Smiling DVS disarms BJP fans in ‘all-bouquet-no-brickbat’ event
BJP fields D V Sadananda Gowda in Bangalore North

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…