Name on roll, but no EPIC card? Don’t worry

So you registered, checked the voter roll online and found your name there. But you have not received the Karnataka EPIC/ voter ID card. What to do? Read the good news.

The Deputy Chief Electoral Officer P T Kulkarni has confirmed that people whose names are the voters’ list this month can vote on 5 May, even if they have not received the voter ID card. This comes as a relief to the citizens who have registered and found their names on the roll, but do not know whether they will be turned down at booths for want of EPIC cards.

"Those who don’t have EPIC can vote with any of the 21 documents that we have specified, as was the case in the last elections also. Instructions have been issued on this", Kulkarni told Citizen Matters. He added the elections officials are also giving the voter’s list to individual voters. "So those who don’t have any documents can show their name in the voter’s list and vote", he says.

P G Bhat, Bangalore-based data expert on voter roll analysis, reacting to Kulkarni’s announcement, says: "It is unlikely that BBMP will put efforts to issue voter ID cards now". Bhat feels that the BBMP will most likely issue EPICs later. So voters should not wait for EPIC cards to arrive at their homes before May 5th and get disheartened.

The Additional Commissioner (Elections) has announced that, in addition to the ERO, the following Bangalore-One centers are ready to print EPIC cards:

  1. Malleshwaram
  2. RT Nagar
  3. Rajajinagar
  4. Tannery Road
  5. Vijayanagar
  6. Airport Road
  7. JP Nagar
  8. Jayanagar
  9. Nagarbhavi
  10. Banashankari

To find your name on the rolls and print the details ,do the following:

  1. Go to
  2. Select the district (usually Bangalore, or Bangalore rural), your constituency, and put your name, relative’s name, gender, and hit search.
  3. If your entry exists, it will come up on the screen.
  4. Click the details link on left hand side of the entry line and you will get a blue popup box that displays all your details including booth location.
  5. Using your mouse, mark the entire box. Copy and paste the entire details into a document and print it out.

On May 5th, take this printout to the polling station mentioned in the popup box with any of the IDs whose copies you submitted while registering.

Serial number mismatch

When you go to your polling booth on 5th May with your voter ID card, there is a chance that the details in your card don’t match those in voter list. The serial number, name, and address may differ, but not the EPIC number.

Insist on searching the rolls if your record is not found with ease. Don’t return without casting your vote. If you can, check your record by:

Note: This website will soon be migrated to a new system.  If you face any issues, do mail us. You can also reach us through Twitter or Facebook!

Bengaluru This Week

Get our free weekly newsletter.

Please note that ECI helpline is 1950. If you still must know when your ID card is being dispatched or how to collect it, you can call this helpline.

The authorities say they will ensure that voters’ slips are distributed properly. Voters’ slips give the voter booth information and serial number of his / her name on the list, this saves time and ensures smooth flow of voters at every booth. Usually the voters’ slips are distributed by the political parties. Citizens can directly get the booth details from the link given above.

Around 67 lakh citizens are now registered in Bangalore Urban, BBMP North, South and Central constituencies. The following table shows how the total number of voters has increased across Bangalore from the previous roll revision.

      Voter count in Dec-12 added Jan-13 added Apr-13 Current Number of voters
Bangalore Urban Yelahanka AC150 251,337 25,991 18,142 293,035
BBMP (North) K.R. Pura AC151 260,601 45,102 34,904 339,436
Bangalore Urban Byatarayanapura AC152 266,913 36,496 28,713 330,229
Bangalore Urban Yeshwanthapura AC153 270,691 38,585 41,442 349,330
BBMP (Central) Rajarajeshwari nagar AC154 268,045 32,869 35,173 334,423
Bangalore Urban Dasarahalli AC155 259,783 44,533 42,060 344,929
BBMP (North) Mahalakshmi Layout AC156 200,050 19,933 27,503 245,552
BBMP (North) Malleshwaram AC157 147,691 14,736 13,448 173,524
BBMP (North) Hebbal AC158 172,322 20,469 18,976 210,363
BBMP (North) Pulakeshinagar AC159 147,853 14,849 16,118 178,073
BBMP (North) Sarvagnanagar AC160 242,353 21,202 17,533 279,846
BBMP (North) C.V. Ramann Nagar AC161 160,883 21,724 14,672 196,362
BBMP (Central) Shivajinagar AC162 150,640 8,759 8,657 167,142
BBMP (Central) Shantinagar AC163 153,653 11,779 16,726 179,291
BBMP (Central) Gandhinagar AC164 173,460 10,397 11,972 192,896
BBMP (Central) Rajajinagar AC165 156,170 11,024 10,141 175,955
BBMP (South) Govindarajanagar AC166 203,499 13,242 25,755 239,427
BBMP (South) Vijayanagar AC167 192,842 21,429 23,679 235,777
BBMP (Central) Chamrajapet AC168 153,188 21,678 8,470 182,868
BBMP (Central) Chickpet AC169 157,260 14,122 17,498 187,508
BBMP (South) Basavanagudi AC170 156,877 25,747 18,318 198,231
BBMP (South) Padmanaba nagar AC171 180,969 22,573 17,136 219,467
BBMP (South) B.T.M Layout AC172 166,325 24,524 17,007 207,016
BBMP (South) Jayanagar AC173 147,846 18,379 7,830 170,701
Bangalore Urban Mahadevapura AC174 272,476 53,367 44,877 368,153
BBMP (South) Bommanahalli AC175 240,771 45,958 34,523 319,971
Bangalore Urban Bangalore South AC176 346,849 65,507 37,568 447,914


  1. gururaja chinthamani says:

    I am not finding my name in thevoterslist

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

BJP candidate Harsh Malhotra is up against AAP candidate Kuldeep Kumar in East Delhi. Take a look at their profiles and of others in the fray.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothIncumbent MP : Gautam Gambhir, BJPOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency East Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency is one of the seven parliamentary constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. Constituted in 1966, it is one of the most densely populated constituencies with a population of around 25 lakh. It comprises the following areas: Gandhi Nagar, Shahdara, Krishna Nagar, Laxmi Nagar Vishwas Nagar, Patparganj, Janpura, Trilokpuri (SC), Kondli (SC) and Okhla.  As of…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: South Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

Ramvir Singh Bidhuri of the BJP is contesting the South Delhi seat in place of sitting MP Ramesh Bidhuri. Who is he up against?

About the constituency Established in 1966, South Delhi Constituency is Delhi’s fourth largest constituency in terms of number of voters and is made up of Bijwasan, Palam, Mehrauli, Chhatarpur, Deoli (SC), Ambedkar Nagar (SC), Sangam Vihar, Kalkaji, Tughlakabad and Badarpur. The villages are largely dominated by the Gujjar community. It’s an upmarket area and is often referred to as the financial capital of the state. As of January 2024, the constituency had around 22.21 lakh voters, including roughly 12.34 lakh men and 9.86 lakh women, many of whom live in the urban villages or unauthorised colonies. This constituency had BJP’s…