Bangaloreans to rally against corruption at MG Road

After Saaku, Bangaloreans are rallying once again against corruption on Sunday, Jan 30th, at MG Road. Time: 10.30am. This time Bengaluru joins a national campaign in over a dozen cities.

A coalition of 18 civil society organizations in Bengaluru – which had organized the ‘Saaku’ campaign on December 11 – is holding a campaign ‘India Against Corruption’ on January 30.

As part of this, rallies will be held across Bengaluru and 27 other cities on the day, demanding effective anti-corruption laws and passing of the Jan Lokpal Bill. (Earlier Saaku coverage.)

Rally details

Sunday, January 30, 2011 at 10:30 am
STARTS: Mahatma Gandhi Statue, Chinnaswamy Stadium Campus, MG Road
ROUTE: MG Statue to Kanteerva Stadium and gathering at MG Statue
Vijay Dwivedi 99014-55685 and Soma Shekar 89710-49348

Jan Lokpal bill, mooted by New Delhi-based anti-corruption activist Arvind Kejriwal, is an amended version of the draft Lokpal Bill, 2010. Activists denounce the draft Lokpal Bill, 2010, which provides for filing complaints of corruption against Prime Minister, ministers and MPs with the Lokpal ombudsman, saying that it has no teeth.

India Against Corruption (IAC) is led by Swami Ramdev, Sri Sri Ravi Shankar, Kiran Bedi, Swami Agnivesh, Anna Hazare, Arvind Kejriwal, J. M. Lyngdoh, Justice Tewatia, Mallika Sarabhai, Maulana Mufti Shamoom Kashmi, Maulana Kalbe Rizvi, Arch Bishop Vincent M Concessao, Prashant Bhushan, Devinder Sharma, Subhash Chandra Aggarwal, Pradeep Gupta, B D Lall and Sunita Godara among others, says a release issued ahead of the rally by the IAC. 

"The Lokpal should be an independent body which can operate without political interference; it should also have powers to prosecute corrupt officials and to confiscate property which has been obtained illegally," says Srinivas Alavilli, a Bangalore-based member of the political party Loksatta, one of the organisers of the campaign.

In Bengaluru, the march will start at 10.30 am from Mahatma Gandhi statue at MG Road, go to Kanteerava stadium and culminate at the statue. Other participating cities include Chennai, Mumbai, Delhi, Hyderabad etc.

"People from many smaller cities and from abroad showed interest in the campaign, they are taking the initiative to organize the campaign in their cities by themselves. It has been publicized mainly through Facebook and our website," says Alavilli. Organisers expect 500-1000 participants in Bengaluru rally.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Mumbai, meet your new MPs from neighbouring Thane and Kalyan

Thane and Kalyan voters elected MPs from Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena. Here is all you need to know about the two winning candidates.

Table of contentsThane: Naresh Mhaske, Shiv SenaElection results for Thane constituencyWho is Naresh Ganpat Mhaske?Political experienceChallenges in the Thane constituencyKey promises made by Naresh MhaskeKalyan: Dr. Shrikant Shinde, Shiv SenaElection results for Kalyan constituencyWho is Dr. Shrikant Shinde?MPLADs spending of Dr. Shrikant ShindePolitical experienceChallenges in the Kalyan constituencyKey promises made by Dr. Shrikant ShindeAlso read: Both the Thane and Kalyan constituencies have been bagged by the Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde led faction) in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The two MPs who have been elected from Thane and Kalyan are Naresh Mhaske and Dr. Shrikant Shinde respectively. Here is comprehensive…

Similar Story

Bengaluru, meet your new MPs

The BJP secured a victory in all four parliamentary constituencies in Bengaluru. Here is a detailed report on the elected MPs.

Table of contentsBangalore North: Shobha Karandlaje, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore North constituencyShobha Karandlaje's political experience Positions heldEducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore South: Tejasvi Surya, BJPAbout Bangalore South constituencyElection resultsTejasvi Surya's political experiencePositions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLAD detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore Central: PC Mohan, BJPAbout Bangalore Central constituencyElection resultsPC Mohan's political experience Positions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLADS detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in constituencyKey promisesBangalore Rural: Dr CN Manjunath, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore Rural constituencyDr. CN Manjunath's political experience EducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesAlso read The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a victory in all four Parliamentary Constituencies in Bengaluru in the 2024…