All you need to know about Ward 153 – Jaya Nagar

Here's all the information that you need about Jaya Nagar ward prior to the BBMP elections: What has happened in the ward in the past five years, who is contesting, what are the problems?

153 – Jaya Nagar


Though bill details for Jayanagar ward show that SC/ST have got many houses constructed by BBMP, the data we have shows no details about the money paid. Here is more information on the premier ward in South Bengaluru.

MLA (2013): R V Devraj (INC), Chickpet
MP (2014): Ananth Kumar (BJP), Bangalore South

BBMP 2010

Corporator: Gangambika (INC)
#210/9, 7th main road, Byrasandra, Jayanagar, Bangalore-11.
Ph: 9448063498
Reservation: G

Winner’s percentage: 16.9
Winner’s margin: 3425
Total votes polled: 14292
Total voters: 40916

BBMP 2015

Total voters: 34956
Male: 18038
Female: 16912
Others: 6

Reserved: General (Women)

Contesting Candidates

BJP: Kavitha Jain
INC: Gangambike Mallikarjun
JDS: Sabeena Taj
BSP: Azmathunnisa
AIMIM: Fahimunnisa


  • Population (2011): 38151
  • Households: 8427
  • Area: 2.5 sq km

Civic Amenities/Infrastructure

  • Road length: 571 km
  • Lakes: Bairasandra/Chikkapete, Total area: 4.8 sq km
  • Parks: 13, Total area: 27.8 sq km
  • Playgrounds: 1, Total area: 0 sq km

Active citizen groups/RWAs

If you represent any RWA from this area, please click here and fill your info. It will be added to this space after verification.


More information on candidates

No candidates have filled the information collection form so far. If you know anyone contesting, do ask them to fill the Candidate Information Form as soon as possible.

How was the money spent? Tenders, job codes, bills:

  • Click on the sections corresponding to complaints, tenders and bills, to get a feel of what are the problems, what is being addressed, how much money is being spent, and is it really happening on ground.
  • Scroll using your arrow keys to see the details within the sections.

Click here to view the raw data.

What’s bothering the residents? Complaints represented in a wordcloud:

Data Courtesy

BBMP, Janaagraha, BBMP Restructuring Committee website

Disclaimer: This data is an extract; it is not complete, and not verified independently. It may not be from the entire tenure of BBMP council 2010-15.

Related Articles

Ward information: 186 – Jaraganahalli
Ward information page: 177 – JP Nagar
All you need to know about Ward 184 – Uttarahalli

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

The trials of a school in Northeast Delhi in the aftermath of the 2020 riots

Rioters had left the Arun Modern Senior Secondary Public School in shambles in 2020. Here's the tale of its journey from then to now.

Kakul Sharma was in class 8 in 2020 when the Delhi riots occurred. Although she was safe at home, her school was attacked by a mob. "I thought I would never be able to go back to school. We believed that the world was ending. My sister cried all day when she saw a news channel telecasting the rubble of our school.” For the children of Northeast Delhi, like Kakul, the riot meant a school blackened by smoke, a charred library, broken benches, and a playground that looked like it was hit by a tornado. This was the shape in…

Similar Story

Push government to implement all welfare measures in Street Vendors Act : Lekha Adavi

Lekha Adavi, a member of AICTU, says that without BBMP elections, there are no corporators to address the issues of street vendors.

(In part 1 of the interview series, Lekha Adavi, member of the All India Centre of Trade Unions (AICTU), spoke about the effects of climate change on Bengaluru’s street vendors. In part 2, she highlights how The Street Vendors Act (Protection of Livelihood and Regulation of street vending) 2014 falls short in its implementation) Excerpts: How do you engage with local authorities or municipal agencies to raise awareness of the challenges faced by street vendors during temperature surges? What responses or support do they provide? Lekha: Well, they don't respond to any of our demands. In Bengaluru, the BBMP elections…