Govindraj Nagar: MLA’s assets go north, neighbourhood goes south

Who are the candidates in Govindaraj Nagar? How has the MLA performed in last five years? What are the problems in the constituency?

Govindraj Nagar may be in the news for having one of the richest candidates, incumbent MLA Priya Krishna, but the neighbourhoods suffer from common city issues, with little done towards infrastructure development.

The constituency covers Prashanth Nagar, Corporation Colony, BMP Colony, Govindaraja Nagar, Magadi Chord road Layout, Thimmenahalli, CHBS Layout, Binni Layout, Vijaya Nagar 1st Stage and a few other areas.

The total number of voters was 2.78 lakhs during the 2009 bye-elections which has now come down to 2.39 lakhs as per the latest revision. 

Incumbent MLA Priya Krishna

Priya Krishna (INC) is one of the youngest MLA in the Karnataka Assembly, and the richest. Priya Krishna is the son of M Krishnappa (also known as Layout Krishnappa), also an MLA, representing Vijayanagar Constituency. Priya Krishna won the 2009 Assembly bye-polls from Govindrajanagar by 5239 votes (51% vote share) with 64,176 votes. The 25-year-old debutant won against his rival, V Somanna, 59-year-old, four-time MLA who had won the same seat with a Congress ticket in 2008. Somanna’s move to BJP in a year necessitated the bye-poll.

Priya Krishna’s website gives him the credit for development works like improvement of main roads, footpaths, drains and culverts etc. Such local works are actually within the BBMP’s scope.

Priya Krishna, a post-graduate with a degree in Law, has been active in the party since 2006, helping out with campaign work with his father. Assets of Priya Krishna have increased by Rs 143.36 crores, from Rs 767.61 crores in 2008 to Rs 910.98 crores in 2013. His website lists his vision, which happens to be the same as that of his father’s (Src:

In 2012, the Lokayukta ordered a probe against M Krishnappa and his family, for amassing wealth to the tune of about Rs 700 crore disproportionate to his known sources of income. .

Daksh Survey has given a relatively high score in two categories, on Trustworthiness and Accessibility, of 6.7 and 6.0 respectively. The primary reason for winning against a senior leader during the Assembly elections is said to the backing of the youth votes, and also his early entry into politics. Priya Krishna’s advantage this time too maybe his hold on the youth vote banks.

Candidates: 2013 election

Candidate &
Total Assets/Liabilities, Cases Brief profile
Priya Krishna INC – hand 911 Cr
2 cases
i. Case No. PCR 01/2012 & Fir No. 06.2012- From the latest information obtained, the Lokayukta has filed a B-Report in this matter. 
ii. Case No. PCR 8423/2012- B-Report has been Submitted by The Investigating Authority. In The court Of 6th ADDL- CMM Bangalore Case No- 8423/2012 & Fir No. 334/2012
Law degree-holder, in news for being the youngest and richest among all MLAs.
Click here for website
Click here for Facebook profile
Ph: 9448049279- 080-23301650
H. Ravindra BJP – lotus 4 Cr * Graduate
* Corporator
Ph: 9845346899- 08023388218
T M Rangegowda JD(S) – lady with crops 27 Cr
2 cases
1 charges related to kidnapping (IPC Section-363)
1 charge related to Voluntarily causing grievous hurt by dangerous weapons or means (IPC Section-326)
1 charge related to voluntarily causing hurt (IPC Section-323)
8th pass
P Doddaiah, 45 KJP – coconut    
Abhimaani Narendra IND  – Bat    
B S VIJAYAKUMAR, 65 SJP  – Television    
HARISH K, 25 IND  – Battery Torch    
K RAJASHEKAR , 40 BSRC  – Ceiling Fan Total assets: 1.57 cr. Liabilities 30 lakhs
Self employed
MAHESH R , 38 IND  – Table    
R. Ravindra IND  – Tent    

Key issues:

As usual, all the evils haunting Bangalore are prevalent here too. Congested roads and traffic congestion, lack of street lights, inundation of low-lying areas during rainy season, open drains, potholes on the roads, poor garbage management etc. are haunting the people of the area. There are 2,39,427 voters this time in this constituency. Whether the voters will remain satisfied with the incumbent or will they seek change, only time will tell us.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…