What’s up with the MLC elections?

Citizen Matters brings you the latest on the upcoming election for the Bangalore graduate constituency. How to register? Who is contesting? When is the election?

June 2012

Of voter’s list, voting booths and preferential voting:  a guide to voting booths and how to find your name in the electoral rolls for the election on June 10th. Also a note on how the preferential system works.

Sixteen candidates will battle it out in the Bangalore graduate constituency MLC election on June 10th. Campaigning in graduates MLC race intensifies, contrasts break through. Follow the progress of the Election campaign

Who is running for office? Read the in-depth backgrounder on Ramachandra Gowda, Ramoji Gowda, A Deve Gowda, Ashwin Mahesh, Nagalaxmi Bai and K S Lakshmi. All about the MLC election candidates

We also spoke to Justice Hedge who says he does not support any party. He explains his decision to endorse the Lok Satta candidate in the graduate constituency MLC election. 

ABIDe member and urban affairs strategist Ashwin Mahesh contesting in the Karnataka Legislative Council graduates constituency election happens to be a director at Oorvani Media (publisher of Citizen Matters).  How do we keep our work independent? Read about Citizen Matters and politics – our charter.

May 2012

Registration closes for Bengaluru MLC election.

There was confusion till the last minute, and for the time being, gates are closed for new registrations to the graduates constituency for the MLC election.

The High Court has also been hearing a public interest litigation (PIL) on substantial difficulties with voter registration.  Read more at Registration closes for Bangalore MLC voter rolls.

Apr 2012: The dates may not yet be set for the MLC elections, but campaigning has heated up. Loksatta candidate Ashwin Mahesh is out urging graduates to register.

Read more at Justice Hegde endorses Loksatta …

The voter roll registration system

Oct 2011: Bengaluru is said to have about 8-14 lakh graduates and they have only about three weeks to register in graduate voter rolls. Can the government system cope?

Read more at Calling all Bengaluru graduates to vote

Who can vote?

The voter should be an ordinary resident of Bangalore, and should have had completed graduation. More at All about MLC graduate constituency

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

BJP candidate Harsh Malhotra is up against AAP candidate Kuldeep Kumar in East Delhi. Take a look at their profiles and of others in the fray.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothIncumbent MP : Gautam Gambhir, BJPOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency East Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency is one of the seven parliamentary constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. Constituted in 1966, it is one of the most densely populated constituencies with a population of around 25 lakh. It comprises the following areas: Gandhi Nagar, Shahdara, Krishna Nagar, Laxmi Nagar Vishwas Nagar, Patparganj, Janpura, Trilokpuri (SC), Kondli (SC) and Okhla.  As of…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: South Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

Ramvir Singh Bidhuri of the BJP is contesting the South Delhi seat in place of sitting MP Ramesh Bidhuri. Who is he up against?

About the constituency Established in 1966, South Delhi Constituency is Delhi’s fourth largest constituency in terms of number of voters and is made up of Bijwasan, Palam, Mehrauli, Chhatarpur, Deoli (SC), Ambedkar Nagar (SC), Sangam Vihar, Kalkaji, Tughlakabad and Badarpur. The villages are largely dominated by the Gujjar community. It’s an upmarket area and is often referred to as the financial capital of the state. As of January 2024, the constituency had around 22.21 lakh voters, including roughly 12.34 lakh men and 9.86 lakh women, many of whom live in the urban villages or unauthorised colonies. This constituency had BJP’s…