‘Temporary’ situation that has lasted 2 decades

Garbage dump outside BDA complex is causing inconvenience to the shopkeepers and residents around that area.

Lack of trash pickup points nearby has made 6th cross, 3rd block Koramangala near BDA complex a garbage dumping space for over 20 years now. Pourakarmikas say the garbage pickup truck comes about once a week to clear it. Devi, a pourakarmika says, "We have been dumping the garbage of the whole locality here. The BBMP truck comes and collects it whenever they want."    

Garbage dump at BDA complex, Koramangala. Pic: Anisha Nair     

The garbage menace has been bothering residents and shopkeepers alike. A tea stall owner outside the BDA complex, who did not want to be named, says, "people standing here for tea have to deal with the bad smell because of the garbage dump there."

Lakshmi Raman, a resident of Koramangala says, "we can not walk in from the 6th cross. The garbage is always all over the footpath and it stinks a lot."

BBMP however claims that this is a temporary situation. Savithri S, Environmental Engineer, Koramangala, says, "we do not have a particular pickup point in Koramangala 3rd block so it is the temporary pickup point till the new point is decided."  

H T Bettegauda, Superintendent Engineer, South Zone, BBMP, says "I will ask the Environmental Engineer to contact the concerned person and get the garbage cleaned right away. It will not be dumped there from now."



  1. Hanna Ciuba says:

    It’s terrible sight! Why are the streets not garbage cans? It would be easier to take them in garbage truck, which should drive every day. This is a great shame for such a beautiful city. I think that we should talk about it with children. Let them learn now that this situation endangers their health and the environment in which they live.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Mumbai, meet your new MPs from neighbouring Thane and Kalyan

Thane and Kalyan voters elected MPs from Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena. Here is all you need to know about the two winning candidates.

Table of contentsThane: Naresh Mhaske, Shiv SenaElection results for Thane constituencyWho is Naresh Ganpat Mhaske?Political experienceChallenges in the Thane constituencyKey promises made by Naresh MhaskeKalyan: Dr. Shrikant Shinde, Shiv SenaElection results for Kalyan constituencyWho is Dr. Shrikant Shinde?MPLADs spending of Dr. Shrikant ShindePolitical experienceChallenges in the Kalyan constituencyKey promises made by Dr. Shrikant ShindeAlso read: Both the Thane and Kalyan constituencies have been bagged by the Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde led faction) in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The two MPs who have been elected from Thane and Kalyan are Naresh Mhaske and Dr. Shrikant Shinde respectively. Here is comprehensive…

Similar Story

Bengaluru, meet your new MPs

The BJP secured a victory in all four parliamentary constituencies in Bengaluru. Here is a detailed report on the elected MPs.

Table of contentsBangalore North: Shobha Karandlaje, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore North constituencyShobha Karandlaje's political experience Positions heldEducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore South: Tejasvi Surya, BJPAbout Bangalore South constituencyElection resultsTejasvi Surya's political experiencePositions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLAD detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore Central: PC Mohan, BJPAbout Bangalore Central constituencyElection resultsPC Mohan's political experience Positions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLADS detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in constituencyKey promisesBangalore Rural: Dr CN Manjunath, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore Rural constituencyDr. CN Manjunath's political experience EducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesAlso read The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a victory in all four Parliamentary Constituencies in Bengaluru in the 2024…