Bruhat buzz in 2011

BBMP was again the centre of all the action in the city in 2011. It was also the target of lot of protests.

Jan JD-S Bangalore city corporator Diwaan Ali shot dead.

Feb Anita Reddy, Founder, Association for Voluntary Action and Services, wins Namma Bengalurean of the Year Award, 2010, instituted by Namma Bengaluru Foundation.

Mar High Court dismisses midnight tender case, clearing the way for BBMP to initiate works like road widening, signal free corridors etc worth Rs 22,000 cr.

Provisional census data shows population density in Bangalore district increase by 147% in the last decade, literacy goes up by 6%.

Apr Bangalore Traffic Police joins Facebook, becoming the first government agency in the city to have live interactions with citizens online.

HC rules that all Bangalore lakes should be protected and rejuvenated by 2014.

R Sharadamma becomes Mayor; and S Harish, Deputy Mayor.

May BBMP sets itself a two month deadline to de-silt and clear encroachments on all rajakaluves, and to have RWH installed in all properties measuring more than one acre.

Jun UID enrolment starts in Post Offices

BBMP cuts 17 trees along Sankey road despite public protest.

Jul V Balasubramanian, Chairman of the Task Force for Recovery and Protection of Public Lands, publishes his report on land encroachment in the city, indicting government agencies and private parties.

Government mandates BBMP and Fire department to follow strict procedures to approve and inspect fire safety systems, after a PIL by Beyond Carlton group.

Justice Shivaraj V Patil becomes Lokayukta, but resigns in September after media says he secured housing plots illegally.

Aug Bangalore becomes part of the nationwide campaign to support Anna Hazare’s fast for Jan Lokpal Bill. Tens of thousands gather in Freedom Park, with many joining the fast.

Sep Rs 9380 cr BBMP budget, prioritising infrastructure projects, passed in Council. Budget hole is Rs 5,000 cr, state government later approves budget on condition that only ongoing works can be continued.

After two years of hearing, HC orders BBMP to stop widening of the road going through GKVK university campus on grounds of biodiversity protection.

Guidance value for Bangalore Urban revised, property prices go up.

A Citizen Matters expose finds city council does not takes votes on decisions.

Oct Former CM B S Yedyurappa jailed. Ministers Katta Subramanya Naidu and Janardhan reddy had been jailed in separate cases earlier.

Metro Reach 1 open from MG Road to Bayappanahalli

Gandhinagar BBMP Councillor S Nataraj murdered.

BESCOM power tariff hiked

Nov Siddhiah orders BMTF to investigate the Rs 1539 crore works scam in Gandhinagar, Rajarajeshwarinagar and Malleswaram, exposed by BBMP’s Technical Vigilance Cell.

BMTF arrested BBMP EE Idayavendon. Some files relating to the case suspected to be burnt in a fire in BMTF office soon after.

BBMP Commissioner H Siddaiah transferred. Transport Department Principal Secretary M K Shankarlinge Gowda takes charge as Commissioner.

HC rules in favour of Sankey road widening, permits tree cutting and ordered BBMP to complete the entire corridor widening in a year.

Dec Shankarlinge Gowda suspends BMTF enquiry to works scam after BBMP engineers protest on Idayavendon’s arrest.

Bangalore NGO Environment Support Group (ESG) wins the ‘Green Oscar’ for its lake conservation efforts.

Police denies permission for Bangalore Slutwalk.

BWSSB extends year-end deadline for citizens to install Rainwater Harvesting to March 2012.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…