Villivakkam: Residents tired of the perennial woe of inundation

To view map, see:

Villivakkam, once the largest Assembly Constituency in Chennai, now has over 2.52 lakh voters from Viduthalai Guruswamy Nagar (South) , Ayanavaram, Nagammaiyar Nagar (South), Panneerselvam Nagar, Villivakkam (North) and Villivakkam (South) . After the delimitation in 2008, Kolathur, Madhavaram, Ambattur, Maduravoyal, and Virugambakkam were carved out from it, while parts of Purasawalkam were added to make the constituency in its present form. Before delimitation, the constituency has seen DMK, AIADMK, CPI (M), TMC(M), and INC in power.


  • Raju  (AIADMK)
  • Ranganathan (DMK)
  • Subramanian (PMK)
  • Jaishankar (BJP)
  • Palanivel (BSP)
  • Pandiyan (DMDK) 
  • K.M. Sucharitha (YSP)
  • Vagai Venthan (NTK)
  • Jagadesh (Valamaana Tamizhagam Katchi)

Independent candidates

  • B.Mohamed Iqbal Basha
  • M.Gunasekaran
  • R.K.Ravichandran
  • S.Kandasamy
  • C.Pandiyan
  • D.Elavarasan
  • G.Ashok Kumar

Know your candidates

Ranganathan (DMK)

DMK’s candidate B. Ranganathan was the MLA of Vilivakkam during 2006-11 . He had defeated G. Kalan of AIADMK by a margin of 30,116 votes. DMK is campaigning hard to win this constituency back. He was accused of  involvement in a murder case by the victim’s family.


AIADMK’s sitting MLA J.C. Prabhakar is contesting against M.K. Stalin in Kolathur constituency which was carved out of Villivakkam. The party has fielded the councillor of Ward 98 M. Rasu popularly known as ‘Thadi Rasu’.

Key issues

A significant section of the voters in this constituency are employees of  industrial estates in and around the area, and the coach factory in Perambur. Speeches and hand-outs in Telugu points to the candidates’ attempt to woo the Telugu-speaking  population here.

Like the nearby Perambur constituency, the residents of Villivakkam  battle with the problem of flooding during monsoons  and sewage overflow. “The sewage pipes are clogged and  the existing drain water storms are not maintained properly. Every time they clean the drains and heap the silt and garbage on the banks. The next rain carries it all back to the drains. This exercise is pointless,” explains Vijaya Kumar, an auto-driver from SIDCO Nagar.

The residents demand removal of encroachments and reclamation of Villivakkam lake which is covered with water hyacinth. SIDCO Nagar, which now has around 13,000 houses,  was  built on Villivakkam lake, and it was no surprise that it was one of the worst affected areas during the December floods. Floods being an important political plank this elections, the candidates have promised to build more storm water drains and sewerages. Encroachments and illegal buildings even in areas like the High Court Colony are other factors that stifle the waterways.

Power supply is another issue raised by the residents of SIDCO Nagar. “There are a lot of industries in and around the area, and this puts pressure on the available resources. We are told that having a three-phase connection would improve power supply. But , we cannot afford it,” says Mr. Kumar

Difficulty in accessing government services and corruption are among the issues that leave the residents infuriated. “ If we approach government offices, we end up spending  days or even months to get things sorted. But, if we pay middle men; for instance, driving schools in the case of getting licenses, things will be done in no time. This system is convenient for the rich,” says Manikandan from Villivakkam.

Like many other constituencies, drinking water supply, and lack of access to Public Distribution System are everyday concerns for many residents. Though a few infrastructure developments like vehicular subways and bus terminus were undertaken recently, the residents  said that a lot more needs to be done to improve  transport and sanitation facilities.

Voting history

Year Winner Party
1977 K. Suppu Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
1980 J. C. D. Prabhakar Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
1984 V. P. Chinthan Communist Party of India (Marxist)
1989 W. R. Varadarajan Communist Party of India (Marxist)
1991 E. Kalan Indian National Congress
1996 J. M. Haroon Rasheed Tamil Maanila Congress (Moopanar)
2001 D. Napoleon Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
2006 B. Ranganathan Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
2011 J. C. D. Prabhakar Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Party hopping candidates, perplexed voters and a city at risk

Often criticised for their apathy during elections, Mumbaikars face politically unstable and unusual alliances to choose from this elections.

Finally, it is that time again, after five years. Voting for the 18th Lok Sabha is on May 20th for Mumbai and people are watching the high-pitched campaigns by candidates. And many voters β€” young and old β€” are perplexed at political developments over the past few months and years.  It is hard to tell when it started, or that it was always there. At one time, defecting to another political party was looked down upon. Political leaders who party-hopped were quizzed by the media, questioned by the people at public meetings and had to work doubly hard to convince…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Did the government deliver on promises of jobs and employment?

As Mumbai, Thane, Palghar and Kalyan get ready to vote on May 20th, a look at the government's performance on promises of jobs and employment.

In the 4th phase of the Lok Sabha Elections, among other regions in India, six constituencies of Mumbai (city and suburban), Thane, Kalyan and Palghar will vote on May 20th. As the campaign peaks and promises fly from every leader and candidate, voters are getting ready to cast their precious vote. Making an informed choice, is the first step towards strengthening democracy and ensuring sustainable and equitable life for all. Mumbai Votes, a not-for-profit, independent info-bank, conducts research on election manifestos, party promises, their implementation over the years and sector wise performance of different political parties. In the run up…