Panel invites your suggestions on dividing Bengaluru

This is your chance to give your inputs, share your knowledge for setting problems that plague Bengaluru right. Committee on BBMP Restructuring seeks suggestions.

Website of the BBMP Restructuring Committee features the progress made by the Committee.

A three-member Government Committee formed in order to work out the modalities of dividing Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike has been also entrusted the task of restructuring BBMP.

As Ravichandar, one of the members of the BBMP restructuring committee puts it, the Committee aims to structure it in such a way that:

  • quality of life improves in Bengaluru for decades to come
  • quality services are accessed by all citizens; accountability of elected representatives and service providers
  • Bengaluru features among top 50 global cities on liveability

The Committee also aims to examine whether the city is better served by multiple City Corporations in place of the huge BBMP spread over 198 wards and 800 sq kms, by answering the questions:

  • Can pure administrative decentralisation in the current set up do the job, or is political devolution and decentralised administration the way to go?
  • If BBMP is going to be divided into multiple corporations, how many are appropriate? What is the basis?
  • What are the key parameters to be reckoned while splitting the BBMP?

The Committee will also examine how to coordinate the regional arrangements across Corporations and the entities in the Bengaluru Metropolitan area, that is, the BDA area of 1219 sq kms. The role of Metropolitan Planning Committee, possibility of a directly elected mayor and responsibilities of running the city will also be analysed.

Plan to build accountability measures for elected representatives and service providers, starting at the ward level and working up the chain, possibility of municipalities providing services as opposed to centralised agencies such as BWSSB and BESCOM will also be discussed by the Committee.

The website features everything done by the Committee, progress reports and timelines for interactions with particular groups and so on.

The Committee requests public to:

  • Visit
  • Read the stuff that catches your fancy; Comment on the articles there; Send us your detailed inputs through the Contact Us section
  • Point friends, relatives and anyone else to
  • Share it on Twitter, Facebook
  • Whatever you wish to say (positive, negative, indifferent, suggestions, criticisms, queries, whatever) do it publicly! Committee needs more public voices to build a consensus.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Party hopping candidates, perplexed voters and a city at risk

Often criticised for their apathy during elections, Mumbaikars face politically unstable and unusual alliances to choose from this elections.

Finally, it is that time again, after five years. Voting for the 18th Lok Sabha is on May 20th for Mumbai and people are watching the high-pitched campaigns by candidates. And many voters β€” young and old β€” are perplexed at political developments over the past few months and years.  It is hard to tell when it started, or that it was always there. At one time, defecting to another political party was looked down upon. Political leaders who party-hopped were quizzed by the media, questioned by the people at public meetings and had to work doubly hard to convince…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Did the government deliver on promises of jobs and employment?

As Mumbai, Thane, Palghar and Kalyan get ready to vote on May 20th, a look at the government's performance on promises of jobs and employment.

In the 4th phase of the Lok Sabha Elections, among other regions in India, six constituencies of Mumbai (city and suburban), Thane, Kalyan and Palghar will vote on May 20th. As the campaign peaks and promises fly from every leader and candidate, voters are getting ready to cast their precious vote. Making an informed choice, is the first step towards strengthening democracy and ensuring sustainable and equitable life for all. Mumbai Votes, a not-for-profit, independent info-bank, conducts research on election manifestos, party promises, their implementation over the years and sector wise performance of different political parties. In the run up…