Mark the dates when India’s most populous cities go to vote

The much awaited schedule for elections to the Lok Sabha, the current term of which ends in June 2019, has been announced. The mammoth electoral exercise, which has been hailed as ‘the festival of democracy’ by the Prime Minister himself, will be conducted in seven rounds: on April 11, April 19, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

Results will be announced on May 23rd.

According to Census 2011, India has 53 urban agglomerations or cities with a population of 10 lakh (1 million) or more. The top 10 among these are Greater Mumbai, Delhi, Kolkata, Chennai, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Pune, Surat and Jaipur.

If you happen to be registered as a voter in any one of these 10 cities, this is when your chance to cast the ballot will come. So, mark the date on your calendar.

City (UA) Parliamentary Constituencies Date Day
Greater Mumbai Mumbai South, Mumbai South Central, Mumbai North, Mumbai North Central, Mumbai North East, Mumbai North West, Thane, Kalyan, Bhiwandi, Palghar  April  29 Monday
Delhi Chandni Chowk, East Delhi, New Delhi, North East Delhi, North West Delhi, South Delhi, West Delhi May 12 Sunday
Kolkata Kolkata Uttar, Kolkata Dakshin, Jadavpur May 19 Sunday
Chennai Chennai North, Chennai South, Chennai Central April 18 Thursday
Bangalore Bangalore North, Bangalore South, Bangalore Central, Bangalore Rural April 18 Thursday
Hyderabad Hyderabad April 11 Thursday
Ahmedabad Ahmedabad East, Ahmedabad West April 23 Tuesday
Pune Pune April 23 Tuesday
Surat Surat April 23 Tuesday
Jaipur Jaipur, Jaipur Rural May 6 Monday

For the complete schedule of polling in the 543 Lok Sabha constituencies, click here.

Support Citizen Matters - independent, Reader-funded media that covers your city like no other.DONATE
About News Desk 251 Articles
The News Desk at Citizen Matters puts out Press Releases, notifications and curated information useful to the urban reader.