Mark the dates when India’s most populous cities go to vote

The much awaited schedule for elections to the Lok Sabha, the current term of which ends in June 2019, has been announced. The mammoth electoral exercise, which has been hailed as ‘the festival of democracy’ by the Prime Minister himself, will be conducted in seven rounds: on April 11, April 19, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

Results will be announced on May 23rd.

According to Census 2011, India has 53 urban agglomerations or cities with a population of 10 lakh (1 million) or more. The top 10 among these are Greater Mumbai, Delhi, Kolkata, Chennai, Bangalore, Hyderabad, Ahmedabad, Pune, Surat and Jaipur.

If you happen to be registered as a voter in any one of these 10 cities, this is when your chance to cast the ballot will come. So, mark the date on your calendar.

City (UA) Parliamentary Constituencies Date Day
Greater Mumbai Mumbai South, Mumbai South Central, Mumbai North, Mumbai North Central, Mumbai North East, Mumbai North West, Thane, Kalyan, Bhiwandi, Palghar  April  29 Monday
Delhi Chandni Chowk, East Delhi, New Delhi, North East Delhi, North West Delhi, South Delhi, West Delhi May 12 Sunday
Kolkata Kolkata Uttar, Kolkata Dakshin, Jadavpur May 19 Sunday
Chennai Chennai North, Chennai South, Chennai Central April 18 Thursday
Bangalore Bangalore North, Bangalore South, Bangalore Central, Bangalore Rural April 18 Thursday
Hyderabad Hyderabad April 11 Thursday
Ahmedabad Ahmedabad East, Ahmedabad West April 23 Tuesday
Pune Pune April 23 Tuesday
Surat Surat April 23 Tuesday
Jaipur Jaipur, Jaipur Rural May 6 Monday

For the complete schedule of polling in the 543 Lok Sabha constituencies, click here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Mumbai, meet your new MPs from neighbouring Thane and Kalyan

Thane and Kalyan voters elected MPs from Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena. Here is all you need to know about the two winning candidates.

Table of contentsThane: Naresh Mhaske, Shiv SenaElection results for Thane constituencyWho is Naresh Ganpat Mhaske?Political experienceChallenges in the Thane constituencyKey promises made by Naresh MhaskeKalyan: Dr. Shrikant Shinde, Shiv SenaElection results for Kalyan constituencyWho is Dr. Shrikant Shinde?MPLADs spending of Dr. Shrikant ShindePolitical experienceChallenges in the Kalyan constituencyKey promises made by Dr. Shrikant ShindeAlso read: Both the Thane and Kalyan constituencies have been bagged by the Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde led faction) in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The two MPs who have been elected from Thane and Kalyan are Naresh Mhaske and Dr. Shrikant Shinde respectively. Here is comprehensive…

Similar Story

Bengaluru, meet your new MPs

The BJP secured a victory in all four parliamentary constituencies in Bengaluru. Here is a detailed report on the elected MPs.

Table of contentsBangalore North: Shobha Karandlaje, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore North constituencyShobha Karandlaje's political experience Positions heldEducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore South: Tejasvi Surya, BJPAbout Bangalore South constituencyElection resultsTejasvi Surya's political experiencePositions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLAD detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore Central: PC Mohan, BJPAbout Bangalore Central constituencyElection resultsPC Mohan's political experience Positions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLADS detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in constituencyKey promisesBangalore Rural: Dr CN Manjunath, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore Rural constituencyDr. CN Manjunath's political experience EducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesAlso read The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a victory in all four Parliamentary Constituencies in Bengaluru in the 2024…