Info for voters of Pulakeshinagar Constituency- MLA, Candidates, Voting and more

If you are one among the lakhs of voters of Pulikeshi Nagar, this is what you need to know!

Incumbent MLA: Akhanda Srinivasa Murthy R

List of candidates, 2018

R. Akhanda Srinivas Murthy



Party: Indian National Congress

  • Family: Wife & 3 Dependents
  • Educational Qualification: PUC
  • Profession: MLA & Social Worker
  • Online: No details given
  • Number of Pending Criminal Cases: NIL
  • Net Worth (2018)
    • IT Returns:
    • Movable Assets:Self-26.1 lacs, Spouse- 15 lacs, Dependant-3 lacs each
    • Immovable Assets: Self-8.1 crores, Spouse-2.5 crores, Dependant 1-1.66 lacs
    • Liabilities:NIL


B Prasanna Kumar




Janata Dal (secular)

  • Family:Wife, 1 son, 1 daughter in law & 2 grandchildren
  • Educational Qualification:BA
  • Profession:Partner BP Kumar Traders
  • Social Media:
  • Email
  • Number of Pending Criminal Cases:
  • Net Worth
    • IT Returns:Self-6.96 lakhs, Spouse-25 lakhs
    • Movable Assets:Self-85 Lakhs, Spouse- 2.15 cr Son-4.63 lakhs, Daughter in law-5.5 lakhs Grandson-75,000, Granddaughter-75,000
    • Immovable Assets: –
    • Liabilities:Self-95 lakhs, Spouse-4 lakhs


Susheela Devaraj




Bharatiya Janata Party

  • Family:Husband, 2 children
  • Educational Qualification: SSLC
  • Profession: Social Worker
  • Social Media:
  • Twitter:@susheeladevraj
  • Email
  • Number of Pending Criminal Cases:
  • Net Worth:
    • IT Returns:-
    • Movable Assets:9 lakhs
    • Immovable Assets:80 lakhs
    • Liabilities:-


Siddagangaiah R




Aam Aadmi Party

  • Family:Wife, 3 children
  • Educational Qualification:2nd PUC
  • Profession:Business Owner
  • Social Media: –
  • Email ID:-
  • Number of Pending Criminal Cases:
  • Net Worth
    • IT Returns:-
    • Movable Assets:Self-14 lakhs, Spouse-6.65 lakhs
    • Immovable Assets: –
    • Liabilities:4.5 lakhs

Full List of Candidates:

[embeddoc url=”” width=”100%”  download=”all”]

Previous Results:

2013 candidates Party Votes Age Vote Share %
Akhanda Srinivas Murthy R JD(S) 48995 43 48.75%
B Prasanna Kumar INC 38796 65 38.6%
A Hemalatha SDPI 5431 35 5.4%
Palani Velu K BJP 4589 47 4.57%
M Murthy IND 684 57 0.68%


2008 candidates Party Votes Age Vote Share%
B Prasanna Kumar INC 39577 56 50.41%
R. Srinivasa Murthy JD(S) 21908 40 27.9%
DR. Chikka Melurappa Alias Prof. Mylarappa BJP 11131 46 14.18%
V Sreenivasan BSP 2408 68 3.07%
D Anbarasan ADMK 1537 44 1.96%


Citizen Demands:

About the Constituency:

[flexiblemap src=”” width=”100%” height=”400px” ]

Pulakeshi Nagar is located in the heart of the city, but residents feel alienated and complain of being treated as second-class citizens. The wards in this area are Kushal Nagar, Kaval Bairasandra, Devara Jeevanahalli, Muneshwara Nagar, Sagayara Puram, S.K. Garden and Pulakeshi Nagar.

Ironically, this region has the doubtful reputation of having the maximum number of slums that are homes for pourakarmikas. Yet garbage collection is the biggest problem here. There are more than 4,000 pourakarmikas, who complain of being paid less than their minimum wages. They also list their main problems to include waste disposal, stray dog menace and uncleared drains.

Lack of adequate water supply also haunts this place. Residents ask for a water treatment plant, better road construction and wider living spaces.

  • The total number of voters in 2008: 78,515.
  • The total number of voters in 2013: 1,00,505.
  • The total number of registered voters currently: 2,31,913.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

The trials of a school in Northeast Delhi in the aftermath of the 2020 riots

Rioters had left the Arun Modern Senior Secondary Public School in shambles in 2020. Here's the tale of its journey from then to now.

Kakul Sharma was in class 8 in 2020 when the Delhi riots occurred. Although she was safe at home, her school was attacked by a mob. "I thought I would never be able to go back to school. We believed that the world was ending. My sister cried all day when she saw a news channel telecasting the rubble of our school.” For the children of Northeast Delhi, like Kakul, the riot meant a school blackened by smoke, a charred library, broken benches, and a playground that looked like it was hit by a tornado. This was the shape in…

Similar Story

Push government to implement all welfare measures in Street Vendors Act : Lekha Adavi

Lekha Adavi, a member of AICTU, says that without BBMP elections, there are no corporators to address the issues of street vendors.

(In part 1 of the interview series, Lekha Adavi, member of the All India Centre of Trade Unions (AICTU), spoke about the effects of climate change on Bengaluru’s street vendors. In part 2, she highlights how The Street Vendors Act (Protection of Livelihood and Regulation of street vending) 2014 falls short in its implementation) Excerpts: How do you engage with local authorities or municipal agencies to raise awareness of the challenges faced by street vendors during temperature surges? What responses or support do they provide? Lekha: Well, they don't respond to any of our demands. In Bengaluru, the BBMP elections…