Citizens to hold consultation, No-vote collection on steel flyover project

No-vote collections, viral video campaigns, rally, consultation and other elements have been planned by Citizens for Bengaluru team, to bring awareness among public on the steel flyover planned on Ballari Road.

We have heard the CM of Karnataka and are disappointed with his response. However that doesn’t change what was seen, heard and felt by thousands  on the road on Sunday – #SteelFlyoverBeda.

There are thousands who are against this flyover – old and young who lined the streets in the Human Chain on Sunday, Oct 16.

We believed that 8000 people on the streets would most certainly lead to a dialogue and re-examination of the project and cancellation of the project as well.

The 219 people or 73% of 299 responses does NOT represent the public sentiment evident on the roads yesterday. It is strange that our Chief Minister is quoting a ridiculous figure that BDA hides behind when thousands of people have openly opposing the project. At this point there are online petitions with over 24000 signatures saying NO Steel Flyover.

We are opposed to the Steel Flyover and the only acceptable solution is the tender must be withdrawn and project canceled.

We hereby solemnly affirm that we shall not subject ourselves silently to inferior governance, that we shall not play dead while vested interests run roughshod over our fair city and we shall not fail for lack of trying!

Our next steps

Caring citizens have been asking what our response should be to the CM’s adamant stance on the controversial, anti-people, anti-environmental and strangely expensive flyover project.

We are saying, clearly, “NO. Bedave beda.” And we have agreed on a programme of action.

The small group of people who formed CASFo – Citizens Against the Steel Flyover – humbly acknowledge, after Sunday’s spectacular demonstration by caring citizens, that this effort has graduated from citizen activism to a citizens’ movement.

We are no longer a small forum, but representatives of the larger public will. Clearly, we have greater support on our side than the CM’s claim of 219 backers of the flyover project.

Here is our action plan:

1. Mass rally: Evidently, while 219 is a persuasive number for the CM, the 8,000+ that made the Human Chain on Sunday is not. We will organise a mass rally to make the CM see how upset the general public is with this project proposal.

2. Consultation: 11AM Sunday 23rd Oct 2016. Rotary House, Lavelle Road : A panel of experts will speak on the lack of due process and application in the strategy and design of the flyover project and in the preparing of the Detailed Project Report. For registration, email to with subject: Register for consultation

3. Referendum: A public poll will be held with sealed polling boxes across the city. Citizens can vote with ‘No-ಬೇಡ’ or ‘Yes – ಬೇಕು’, write their name, telephone no. on a slip and drop it into the polling box. The boxes will be opened at the Rotary Auditorium on Sunday at the end of the consultation.

4. Tree vigil: Citizen volunteers will begin a regular all-night vigil on the stretch between Hebbal flyover and Basaveshwara Circle to ensure that contractors don’t chop down any tree while the city sleeps. Starting Nov.1, Karnataka Rajyotsava

5. Petition to the National Green Tribunal We invite caring citizens to sign up for a petition to be filed before NGT by paying Rs 100/- not a rupee more, not a rupee less, so that the petition represents the widest public interest. Those who sign up, can email with subject: NGT Petition – so that our volunteers can collect your name, profession, signature and photograph in a leather-bound book that will one day become a memorable part of the history of Bengaluru.

6. Viral 20-sec video Campaign Send your own video on why #SteelFlyoverBeda; Post it on the event page:


Citizens for Bengaluru

The content has been taken from the press notes sent by Citizens for Bengaluru team.

Related Articles

BDA keeps steel flyover on hold after drawing flak from citizens
Steel Flyover issue: Is Bengaluru’s Civil Society scoring self goals?
BDA botches up the steel flyover issue by hiding information
Steel flyover debate: Let a plan drive the city transport
BDA steel flyover Detailed Project Report, traffic simulation
Open letter to BBPAG members on steel flyover
BDA steel flyover tender documents

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Mumbai, meet your new MPs from neighbouring Thane and Kalyan

Thane and Kalyan voters elected MPs from Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena. Here is all you need to know about the two winning candidates.

Table of contentsThane: Naresh Mhaske, Shiv SenaElection results for Thane constituencyWho is Naresh Ganpat Mhaske?Political experienceChallenges in the Thane constituencyKey promises made by Naresh MhaskeKalyan: Dr. Shrikant Shinde, Shiv SenaElection results for Kalyan constituencyWho is Dr. Shrikant Shinde?MPLADs spending of Dr. Shrikant ShindePolitical experienceChallenges in the Kalyan constituencyKey promises made by Dr. Shrikant ShindeAlso read: Both the Thane and Kalyan constituencies have been bagged by the Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde led faction) in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The two MPs who have been elected from Thane and Kalyan are Naresh Mhaske and Dr. Shrikant Shinde respectively. Here is comprehensive…

Similar Story

Bengaluru, meet your new MPs

The BJP secured a victory in all four parliamentary constituencies in Bengaluru. Here is a detailed report on the elected MPs.

Table of contentsBangalore North: Shobha Karandlaje, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore North constituencyShobha Karandlaje's political experience Positions heldEducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore South: Tejasvi Surya, BJPAbout Bangalore South constituencyElection resultsTejasvi Surya's political experiencePositions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLAD detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore Central: PC Mohan, BJPAbout Bangalore Central constituencyElection resultsPC Mohan's political experience Positions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLADS detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in constituencyKey promisesBangalore Rural: Dr CN Manjunath, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore Rural constituencyDr. CN Manjunath's political experience EducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesAlso read The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a victory in all four Parliamentary Constituencies in Bengaluru in the 2024…