Chepauk-Triplicane: Will it remain a DMK bastion?

To view map, see:

Chepauk-Triplicane constituency was formed by the merging of Chepauk and Triplicane- two localities in Central Chennai- as part of the delimitation process in 2008. Erstwhile Chepauk constituency was represented by DMK MLAs since 1977; whereas erstwhile Triplicane elected  DMK candidates in six out of nine elections. DMK President M. Karunanidhi was elected from here in 1996, 2001 and 2006 Assembly Elections.  J. Anbazhagan (DMK) is the incumbent MLA of this DMK stronghold.

This constituency has over 2.5 lakh voters. Minority votes play a crucial role in this constituency, as over 25 per cent of voters belong to the Muslim community. With its alliance with the Indian Union Muslim League (IUML) and Manithaneya Makkal Katchi, DMK is hopeful of retaining this seat.


  • A.Noorjahan (AIADMK)
  • Anbazhagan (DMK)
  • Abdulla Sait (DMDK)
  • Apn. Thamarai Gajendran (BJP)
  • A.V.A.Kassalli (PMK)
  • Raghu (BSP)
  • P.Sivakumar (NTK)
  • Abid Bakshqh Hussain (RP(I)A)
  • Jayaprakash (YSP)
  • Jaffer Shathik (Eluchi Desam Party)
  • Elumalai (SHS)


  • Abbu Moosa Khaderi
  • Manikandan
  • P.Selvaraj
  • Premkumar
  • Revathy
  • Anbalagan
  • Vivekananda
  • Shaik Muhaideen
  • T.K. Syed Subair
  • Suresh

Know your candidates

Incumbent MLA J.Anbazhagan (DMK)

Traffic congestion remains an important issue in Chepauk-Triplicane constituency.  According to Mr. Anbazhagan he had made proposals to decongest the area including relocation of automobile spare part dealers, and construction of bridges at Chintadripet and Ice House. He blames the AIADMK government for obstructing his attempts. This time his promises include improved facilities at Marina Beach, desilting Cooum river, steps to stop mosquito menace, and construction of a swimming pool.

Mr. Anbazhagan was arrested in July 2011 on charges of on charges of forcibly transferring the ownership and management of a paper mill near Tirupur. However, according to the Association for Democratic Reform, he is acquitted of all charges now. 

Noorjahan (AIADMK)

Noorjahan is the main opponent of the sitting MLA here. She was elected twice as the councillor of  Ward 121 of the Greater Chennai Corporation. She had contested for the post four times. She is campaigning hard to break into this DMK bastion.

Voting history

Erstwhile Chepauk Constituency

Assembly Duration Winner Party
Sixth 1977-80 A. Rahman Khan Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Seventh 1980-84 A. Rahman Khan Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Eighth 1984-89 A. Rahman Khan Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Ninth 1989-91 M.Abdul Lathief Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Tenth 1991-96 Zeenath Sheriffdeen Indian National Congress
Eleventh 1996-01 M. Karunanidhi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Twelfth 2001-06 M. Karunanidhi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Thirteenth 2006-11 M. Karunanidhi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam

Madras State

Year Winner Party
1952 A. M. Sambandam Indian National Congress
1957 K. S. G. Haja Sheriff Indian National Congress
1962 V. R. Nedunchezhiyan Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
1967 V. R. Nedunchezhiyan Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam

Tamil Nadu

Assembly Duration Winner Party
Fifth 1971-77 V.R. Nedunchezhiyan Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Sixth 1977-80 M. Aranganathan Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Seventh 1980-84 K.S.G. Haja Shareeff Indian National Congress (Indira)
Eighth 1984-89 Abdul Samad Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Ninth 1989-91 K. Nanjil Manoharan Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Tenth 1991-96 Mohammad Asif All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Eleventh 1996-01 K. Nanjil Manoharan Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Twelfth 2001-06 S.A.M. Hussain Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam
Thirteenth 2006 Sayeed Bader All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Watch: What MP P C Mohan told Bellandur residents during his campaign

On April 21st, residents discussed infrastructure projects, mobility and traffic congestion with the BJP MP candidate from Bangalore Central.

With a long career of 25 years in politics, P C Mohan, the incumbent BJP MP from Bangalore Central constituency, is contesting in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections for the fourth time. At an interaction with residents from Bellandur on Sunday, April 21st, the MP candidate answered questions on infrastructure projects for the locality, solutions for traffic management and decongestion of roads, lack of civic planning in Mahadevapura, among other issues. Here are some excerpts from the interaction: Metro is a long-term project that could take 6 years. From a policy perspective, what can we do to use existing modes…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: What Mumbai civic groups want their MPs to address

As Mumbai readies for polls, civic groups share their demands from elected representatives - infrastructure, environment and public transport.

Even as summer heat sets new records in Mumbai, the city is gearing for elections on May 20 amidst chaotic political developments. As leaders jump the political parties, citizens are focussing on the official manifestos released by major political parties. An election manifesto is a statement put out by a political party or a candidate defining their goals. It reflects the social issues that they promise to tackle should they be elected. As such this document becomes a compass for voters who can decide in which direction they would like to see the country go.  Urban civic groups, having the…