Chennai votes today; be an informed voter, check all details here

Want to know what to do on voting day? Who is contesting from your constituency and what are the key issues in each? All this, plus exclusive interviews in our comprehensive election coverage here.

The much anticipated Tamil Nadu Assembly Elections 2021 is here. The political landscape of the state has undergone drastic changes since the last election, with both major parties losing their leaders in M Karunanidhi and J Jayalalitha. New entrants such as Kamal Hassan’s Makkal Needhi Maiam have found their footing in the scene. The Bharatiya Janata Party is hoping to make inroads in the state with a popular ally. TTV Dhinakaran’s Amma Makkal Munnetra Kazhagam attempts draw voters away from the ruling Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam. Friends have turned foes and foes have turned allies as parties attempt to form a winning coalition.

In the run up to voting day today, what we at Citizen Matters found is that the wishlist of Chennai voters has remained more or less constant. Voters want their roads fixed, sewage system functioning, piped water at homes, better waste management and improved civic infrastructure. All the grand political rhetoric notwithstanding, the gaps in governance affecting civic infrastructure and basic amenities in the city have yet to be filled.

Will these be addressed by the new government? Shall we see a better, more livable Chennai? As in all democracies, it depends to a large extent on how we vote, the choices we make as voters. And better choices are always more informed choices.

If you want to know what to do on voting day or if you’re wondering how COVID-19 protocols will be adhered to, for answers to who is contesting from your constituency or what the key issues in each area are, our comprehensive election coverage has everything you need to know. And even a few voices of aspiring MLAs across parties.

The state goes to polls on April 6. Pic: Flickr (CC BY:SA 2.0)

Browse through our bank of articles as below:


Voting in the time of COVID-19: Chennai voters, check out this detailed guide

Desalination plants, ECR expansion, airport upgrade, GCC split: What are the different parties promising Chennai?

What are the roles and responsibilities of your elected MLA?


Constituency round-up: Anna Nagar, seat of TN’s richest MLA

Constituency round-up: Royapuram lacks basic amenities, but sitting MLA confident of win

Constituency round-up: Candidates and key issues in Ambattur

Constituency round-up: Candidates in Tambaram and what voters want them to address

Constituency round-up: T Nagar, crying for an end to persistent civic problems

Constituency round-up: Madhavaram voters look forward to regular water supply, sewage connections

Constituency round-up: Maduravoyal wants new MLA to look into unfinished projects, ration scams

Constituency round-up: Ex-MLA and ex-Councillor face-off in fisherfolk-dominant Thiruvottiyur

Constituency round-up : Alandur to see fight between two-time MLA, former social welfare minister and entrepreneur

Constituency round-up: Sitting DMK MLA to recontest Thiru-Vi-Ka Nagar; voters want better infra and jobs

Constituency round-up: Pallavaram MLA to contest seat, even as long-standing demands of residents remain unmet

Constituency round-up: Retired public servant, social worker, transwoman face off in Mylapore contest

Constituency round-up: Two former mayors lock horns in Saidapet, riddled with waste and flooding issues

Constituency round-up: High-profile constituency fielding CM candidate, Kolathur has serious civic concerns

Constituency round-up: Udhayanidhi Stalin draws eyes to Chepauk-Thiruvallikeni

Constituency round-up: Young female candidates from MNM and NTK to take on seasoned leaders in Egmore

Constituency round-up: Sitting DMK MLA takes on 2011 winner in Sholinganallur contest

Constituency round-up: Industrialised Sriperumbudur wants water and sewage woes fixed

Constituency roundup: Villivakkam set for battle between J Anbazhagan’s grandson and 2011 winner

Constituency round-up: Sitting DMK MLA hopes to retain seat in the cosmopolitan constituency of Harbour

Constituency round-up: Infrastructure woes a key concern for voters in Velachery

Constituency round-up: Sitting MLA takes on DMK’s youth wing organiser and poet-lyricist from MNM in Virugambakkam

Constituency round-up: No MLA till date has acted on relocating dumpyard, say voters in Perambur


6000 booths, strict COVID protocol, 80-plus to vote at home: District officer shares election plans

Three new flyovers for T Nagar by December 2021: Sathyanarayanan B, MLA

Night schools and a public library in each ward are among my top priorities: NTK candidate Geetha Lakshmi

My vision is to make Mylapore green, clean and pristine: Sitting MLA Dr R Nataraj

Will bring Kendriya Vidyalaya and an arts college to Royapuram: DMK candidate Idream R Murthy (Video)

Will use my experience to create jobs and upskill youth: Sarathbabu Elumalai, MNM, Alandur MLA candidate

Will ensure citizens know more about local projects and funds: Siva Elango, MNM candidate from Tambaram

Will ensure better waste management, public gyms and libraries: T M Anbarasan, Alandur MLA

Will visit a ward every day if elected: A Ponnusamy, MNM candidate from Perambur


Do voters really think of that mixie when they vote?

இல்லத்தரசிகளுக்கான ஊதியம் என்ற தேர்தல் வாக்குறுதி

Panel discussion: What the city really wants from the new government

Will state elections transform local governance in Chennai?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…