BBMP to go to polls on July 28th; New council by July 31st

Battle for Bengaluru has begun. It's going to be a holiday on July 28th across Bengaluru, to ensure you all come out and vote in large numbers. Here's the schedule of events.

Schedule for the much-awaited Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) election has been declared. The Karnataka State Election Commission has scheduled the election on July 28th 2015. With the announcement of poll schedule, model code of conduct has come into force with immediate effect and will be in force till August 1st.

Addressing media persons on Thursday, State Election Commissioner P N Srinivasachari declared that the BBMP Commissioner will issue poll notification on July 8th.

  • Last date for filing nominations is July 15th.
  • Last date for scrutiny of nominations is July 16th.
  • Candidates can withdraw their nominations before July 20th.
  • Polling date is July 28th.
  • Counting of votes will be held on July  31st.

The polling day, being tuesday, will be declared as a holiday to encourage more number of of people to come and vote. Rs 5 lakh has been fixed as the upper limit for election expenditure per candidate. Though EVMs will be used for election, NOTA (None of the above) option will not be available.

Election staff and voters list

While the BBMP Commissioner will co-ordinate supervise all the work in connection with the election, the Deputy Commissioner of Bengaluru Urban and three Additional /Joint Commissioners (Administration South and Mahadevapura) have been appointed as District Election Officers.

Twenty eight Additional / Joint Commissioners and Deputy Commissioners have been appointed as Additional District Election Officers. Returning Officers, Additional Returning Officers, Electoral Registration Officers, Special Observers and Nodal Officers too have been appointed.

According to SEC, 6,733 polling stations have been identified for 198 wards of the BBMP. The maximum number of voters for each polling station has been fixed at 1,500.

Voters list have been prepared wardwise based on the published Assembly Constituency electoral roll under the supervision and of the State Election Commission. Ward wise voters list has been published in the BBMP website ( The voters can view and check their names, serial number and respective polling stations where they have to exercise their votes. They can enrol their names in the voters list till July 15th.

Helpline numbers

SEC has also opened helpline numbers to receive complaints from public regarding BBMP elections – 2015. The numbers are as follows:

State Election Commission: 080-22374740 / BBMP- 080-22224748 / 080-22221188.

Related Articles

HC fines state govt, clears way for BBMP polls

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: West Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

West Delhi will see Mahabal Mishra on an AAP ticket this time, against the BJP's Kamaljeet Sehrawat. More on them and others in the contest.

Table of contentsAt a glance- West Delhi ConstituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP: Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma, BJPCandidates contesting in 2024Additional informationKey candidates in the newsKey issues and challenges in the constituencyAlso read The Delhi West Lok Sabha constituency comprises ten Vidhan Sabha constituencies: 26-Madipur, 27-Rajouri Garden, 28-Hari Nagar, 29-Tilak Nagar, 30-Janakpuri, 31- Vikaspuri, 32-Uttam Nagar, 33-Dwarka, 34-Matiala, 35-Najafgarh. The first five fall in the West Delhi district and the next five in the South West Delhi district. The constituency as it exists today came into being in 2008 after the delimitation. The first member of Parliament to be…