T Nagar: Tired of civic problems, will residents opt for NOTA?

To view map, see: http://bl.ocks.org/anonymous/raw/9c840f92880646cba8901cb90c861eef

Thyagaraya Nagar is one of the busiest commercial hubs in Chennai. It has a diverse mix of residential complexes, big and small commercial establishments, educational institutions and entertainment facilities. The constituency has voted against the winning party in five assembly elections since 1962, and is hence known for voting against the trend. The AIADMK has been in power since 2006. Before that, the Tamil Maanila Congress was elected here in 1996 and the DMK in 2001.

Nagar constituency comprises the wards Vadapalani (West), Vadapalani (East), Kalaivanar Nagar, Navalar Nedunchezian Nagar (East), Navalar Nedunchezian Nagar (West),  Ashok Nagar, M.G.R.Nagar, Kamaraj Nagar (North),  Kamaraj Nagar (South), Thiyagaraya Nagar, and Rajaji Nagar. These areas are among those severely affected areas during the floods.


N.S Kanimozhi (DMK)

B Sathyanarayanan alias T Nagar Sathya  (AIADMK)

H. Raja (BJP)

Know your candidates

The incumbent MLA, V.P. Kalairajan (AIADMK) has been serving as the MLA of T.Nagar since 2006. According to him, in his first tenure, he had focused on improving educational facilities in the constituency. However, the AIADMK leadership has reportedly denied tickets to incumbent candidates in T Nagar for fear of an anti-incumbency wave.

N.S Kanimozhi (DMK)

As a new face in the electoral contest, N.S. Kanimozhi, draws on the political lineage of her grand-father N.V. Natarajan and father N. V. N. Somu who were DMK leaders.

B Sathyanarayanan alias T Nagar Sathya  (AIADMK)

Sathyanarayanan, the councillor of ward 130 of the Chennai Corporation, is another new face in Chennai.  He is the secretary of AIADMK’s South Chennai (North) district unit.

Raja (BJP)

The Bharatiya Janata Party’s national General Secretary, H. Raja, is the party’s candidate from T. Nagar constituency. In the Lok Sabha election in 2014, the BJP was in second position here after the AIADMK. According to Mr. Raja, traffic congestion, increased crime rate, and lack of proper lighting are some of the long-pending issues in the constituency. He says the constituency does not have an adequate number of public parks and playgrounds.

2011 Results

Candidate Party Votes Status
V P Kalairajan AIADMK 75883 Won
A Chellakumar INC 43421 Lost
K Ravichandran BJP 4575 Lost
K R Ramaswamy IND 1305 Lost

Source: http://eci.nic.in/eci_main/StatisticalReports/AE2011/stat_TN_May2011.pdf

Key concerns

Though T. Nagar is known as a much preferred shopping centre, the increased commercial activity raises a number of issues like traffic congestion and pollution, causing much distress among the residents. The residents say that there are a lot civic issues that need to be addressed immediately; but even after repeated complaints, the authorities have not taken any action.

According to B. Kannan, Secretary, T. Nagar Residents’ Welfare Association, the residents feel let down by the governments that have come to power so far. The grievances of the residents remain unresolved even after repeatedly raising them with the authorities over the years.

The issues raised by the residents include dumping of garbage on streets and drains, encroachment by shops, building violations and illegal water-tapping by commercial establishments. According to V.S.Jayaraman, a member of the association,  the violation of law by commercial establishments has been a cause of concern. “Fire safety certificate must be made mandatory for all commercial buildings as per the National Building Code 2005, and action should be taken against officials who aid such illegal activities,” he said.

Frequent clogging of sewer lines, unregulated parking on the streets and the use of pavements and service lines by hawkers prevent the residents from accessing these facilities.  Air, noise and water pollution and inadequate supply of drinking water are other issues raised by the residents. Residents of Vadapalani in particular have complained of clogged and overflowing sewerage.

Mr. Jayaraman says that due to busy commercial activities and the crowd, currently the civic bodies are forced to carry out construction and repair activities in the area during night, resulting in slipshod work. The residents suggest a compulsory one-day weekly closure for commercial establishments as a solution to this.

Revamping the old sewage system and enforcing government approved auto-fares are other demands raised by the residents. Earlier the Madras High Court had ordered sealing of unauthorized constructions on Usman Road and Ranganathan Street, but according to reports it was the small-scale retailers and employees who were affected the most by the order.

NOTA to register protest

The members of the association have launched a campaign appealing to the residents to opt for the NOTA (None of the above) option while voting to register their protest on all the issues mentioned above. Abstaining from voting will encourage bogus voting, so the residents have decided to go for the NOTA option.

The association is confident that around 15% of the voters in T.Nagar will opt for NOTA in the coming elections.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Gig workers and heat: What do existing policies say?

In this video, activists and gig workers talk about the daily struggles of this group and the lack of facilities for them to cope with extreme weather.

This year has seen a scorching and extended summer all across the country. Tamil Nadu has been no different with the state capital, Chennai, recording 40.7 degrees Celsius in the peak of summer. As temperatures soared, the Greater Chennai Corporation issued an advisory, asking people not to step out of their homes between noon and 3 pm, and to cover their heads to protect themselves from the unbearable heat. Representative image: A food delivery worker during the pandemic. Pic: Nicholas Mirguet via Flickr But what if your job requires you to spend several hours out in the sun during peak…

Similar Story

Mumbai, meet your new MPs from neighbouring Thane and Kalyan

Thane and Kalyan voters elected MPs from Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena. Here is all you need to know about the two winning candidates.

Table of contentsThane: Naresh Mhaske, Shiv SenaElection results for Thane constituencyWho is Naresh Ganpat Mhaske?Political experienceChallenges in the Thane constituencyKey promises made by Naresh MhaskeKalyan: Dr. Shrikant Shinde, Shiv SenaElection results for Kalyan constituencyWho is Dr. Shrikant Shinde?MPLADs spending of Dr. Shrikant ShindePolitical experienceChallenges in the Kalyan constituencyKey promises made by Dr. Shrikant ShindeAlso read: Both the Thane and Kalyan constituencies have been bagged by the Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde led faction) in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The two MPs who have been elected from Thane and Kalyan are Naresh Mhaske and Dr. Shrikant Shinde respectively. Here is comprehensive…