Suggest solutions for a ‘Future with No Landfills’

The BBMP has invited public suggestions on the recommendations of the Expert Committee on Municipal Waste Management by Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike. It’s your chance to give suggestions for a better Bengaluru.

Time is now ripe for bringing in systemic changes and strategies to take Bengaluru on a road towards a sustainable solution for handling and processing of solid waste according to the MSW Rules 2000 notified by the Ministry of Environment & Forests.

As an important step towards managing Municipal Solid Waste Management (SWM) as well as to evolve and implement strategies and action plan for Bengaluru getting back its glory as a clean and green city, the Government of Karnataka, Urban Development Department constituted an Expert Committee (EC) under the Chairmanship of Commissioner, BBMP and seven other experts to advise BBMP on technical and managerial issues that are needed both on a short term and long term basis.

The Expert Committee has produced a document entitled ‘A Future with No Landfills’ and outlined the principles guiding the philosophy and strategy in handling waste and the basis on which the city can aspire to a ‘Future without Landfills’.

This report ‘A Future with No Landfills’ was placed before the High Court. The Court directed the BBMP to circulate this report to various stakeholders so that comments of stakeholders can be received before the report is taken on board to guide policy and plans for the city.  A copy of the report including brief note on the Expert Committee members is on the website of the BBMP and can be freely downloaded.

Future With No Landfill by Citizen Matters

The Expert Committee has been requested to receive the feedbacks/comments and consolidate the same for discussions and incorporation.

Stakeholders can email comments/ feedback on the report on or before July 5, 2013 to: or mail it to Additional Commissioner (MSW), BBMP.

The format which you can submit the feedback can be downloaded here.

Alternatively, you can also post your suggestions here, or on our Facebook page, as a comment. You can also send it to, with subject ‘SWM SUGGESTIONS TO BBMP.’ You can mention your name, phone number, mobile number, e-mail, sector/colony/ ward number, or a valid Facebook/Twitter handle. We will collate the comments and bring it to the attention of the Expert Committee.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…