Karnataka HC rules in favour of govt, municipal polls to be delayed

The State government gets at least six months' time to consolidate its plans for Bengaluru, on dividing and restructuring, after the High Court rules in favour of the State, as the BBMP Council has been superseded already.

The Karnataka High Court has set aside the order of a single bench that directed the State government to conduct BBMP polls before May 30th, and has directed the State government and the State Election Commission (SEC) to hold the election within six months from the date of dissolution.

With the HC judgment, the State government has got a breathing space to carry out proposed restructuring of the BBMP and conduct the election.

The division bench comprising Chief Justice D H Waghela and Justice Ram Mohan Reddy delivered the judgement on the appeal filed by the State government against the single bench order on BBMP polls, on Friday.

In its verdict, the Court observed that the State government and the State Election Commission have to conduct election as per the 74th amendment of the Constitution. The 74th amendment makes it mandatory to hold an election within six months from the date of dissolving the municipality council.

Court observes half-heartedness in conducting polls

“As noted in the impugned judgment, only half-hearted and delayed measures were taken for holding the election in time and the election programme was not declared even while the appeals were being heard. However, during the hearing of the appeals, government order dated April 18th 2015 was notified to dissolve the BBMP with immediate effect in exercise of the powers of the State government under Section 99 of the Act,” the judgment remarked.

Further, the judgement states, even under changed circumstances, election was required to be held and completed before expiry of six months from the date of notifying dissolution. “Such time limit having been expressly prescribed in the constitution, there was no occasion for any reduction or extension of the period of six months by a judicial order. Therefore, the directions issued in the single bench order has to be set aside.”

The court also rejected an application by the respondent’s counsel, to stay the order for a period of seven days. Meanwhile, respondents in this case – BJP corporators and the State Election Commission, are now left with an option of approaching the Supreme Court questioning the High Court judgment.

Related Articles

HC directs State govt to conduct BBMP polls by May 30th
HC stays declaration of BBMP election temporarily
HC asks State govt to defend diluted planning rules or withdraw

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: South Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

Ramvir Singh Bidhuri of the BJP is contesting the South Delhi seat in place of sitting MP Ramesh Bidhuri. Who is he up against?

About the constituency Established in 1966, South Delhi Constituency is Delhi’s fourth largest constituency in terms of number of voters and is made up of Bijwasan, Palam, Mehrauli, Chhatarpur, Deoli (SC), Ambedkar Nagar (SC), Sangam Vihar, Kalkaji, Tughlakabad and Badarpur. The villages are largely dominated by the Gujjar community. It’s an upmarket area and is often referred to as the financial capital of the state. As of January 2024, the constituency had around 22.21 lakh voters, including roughly 12.34 lakh men and 9.86 lakh women, many of whom live in the urban villages or unauthorised colonies. This constituency had BJP’s…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: New Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

A snapshot of New Delhi constituency with candidate profiles and affidavits, key issues of the constituency, past elections and more.

New Delhi Lok Sabha constituency which is Delhi’s oldest constituency, comprises the following Vidhan Sabha segments: Karol Bagh, Patel Nagar, Moti Nagar, Delhi Cantonment, Rajinder Nagar, New Delhi, Kasturba Nagar, Malviya Nagar, RK Puram and Greater Kailash. This constituency houses several prestigious institutions like Parliament House, the Supreme Court, ministries and other central government offices, the official residences of the President, the Prime Minister, all union ministers, top civil, judicial and military officials and the diplomatic enclave, making it one of the most high-profile areas of Delhi.  Read more: Missing names and missed opportunities: A Chennai citizen’s experience of elections…