Rahul Ramesh Shewale, Mumbai South Central: Active parliamentarian, Shiv Sena MP seeks second term

Sitting MP from Shiv Sena Party, Rahul Ramesh Shewale is seeking a second term. Here is the report card on Shewale's performance in Parliament, along with details of his assets and MPLAD projects.

Rahul Ramesh Shewale is with the Shiv Sena Party and is the incumbent Member of Parliament from Mumbai South Central constituency. He defeated the sitting MP Eknath Gaikwad from the Congress in the 2014 lok Sabha polls, with a margin of 1,38,180 votes. While Shewale secured 381008 votes Gaikwad got 242828 votes.

The stage this time is set for yet another battle between Shewale and Gaikwad, and 28 other contestants from the South Central Constituency.

First-time MP in 2014, Rahul had been Chairman of the standing committee of Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC) for four terms till 2014. He is an active parliamentarian, as his reports on attendance, number of questions asked and debates far exceed both the state and national averages.

Personal Information

  • Age– 46
  • Party– Shiv Sena
  • Profession – Civil contractor, Consultant
  • Education Qualification –  Diploma Course (Civil Engineering) at Government Polytechnic of India, Mumbai
  • Email – rr.shewale@sansad.nic.in
  • Contact No- 022-2558224, 9869029537, 07718023277
  • Address–  Shivtirth, 10B/12, B.A.R.C, New Mandala Colony, Opp Gate no 6, Sion – Trombay Road, Mumbai – 400088, Maharashtra.
  • Facebook@RRShewale
  • Twitter– @shewale_rahul

Source- myneta.info, LokSabha

Assets and Liabilities

Assets 2014 2019
Movable 1,21,04,397 1,01,37,047(self) + 21,44,316(spouse)
Immovable Nil 60,00,000 (spouse)
Total 1,21,04,397 18,281,363
Liabilities 1,05,02,345 Nil

All figures in INR. Source: ECI, myneta.info

Pending Criminal Cases: Nil

Rahul Ramesh Shewale from Shiv sena Party files his nomination. Credits: Facebook/ RahulShewale

Positions held

  • 2010 – 2014:  Chairman, Standing Committee, Mumbai Municipal Corporation.
  • May 2014: Elected to 16th Lok Sabha
  • 1 Sep 2014 onwards: Member, Standing Committee on Urban Development and Member, Consultative Committee, Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers
  • 27 April 2015 onwards: Member, Railway Convention Committee (R C C)

Source: Lok Sabha

MP in Parliament

Rahul Ramesh Shewale has fared well in the lower house, with an attendance higher than the state and national average. He has introduced eight private member’s bills during his tenure.

MP Attendance No of Debates No of questions asked Private Member’s bill
Rahul Ramesh Shewale 94% 208 847 8
National Average 80% 67.1 293 2.3
State (Maharashtra Average) 78% 68.6 607 4.8

Source- PRS Legislative Research

Some of the debates that Rahul Ramesh Shewale has participated in relate to

Rahul Ramesh Shewale’s 8 private members’ bills are pending in the Parliament, a few important ones being. 

MPLAD funds

Rahul Ramesh Shewale had made recommendations worth Rs 8.03 crore, out of which none appears to have sanctioned, as per the log of the Ministry of Statistics and Program Implementation website. It is also uncertain whether the information was not updated.  

The MP had made recommendations for 140 projects regarding:

  • Construction of public toilets
  • Construction of footpaths and bus sheds
  • Setting up public libraries and reading rooms
  • Piped drinking water supply
  • Public works for sports activities
Recommended amount Rs 8,03,88,013
Sanctioned amount Zero (or not updated on website)
Utilisation amount Zero (or not uploaded on website)

Source: Ministry of Statistics and Program Implementation, GOI

MP in the news

In July 2017, a five-member Railway convention committee comprised of Rahul Ramesh Shewale (Mumbai South), Nana Falgunrao Patole (Bhandra Gondiya), K Ashok Kumar (Krishnagiri), Bhartruhari Mahtab (Cuttack) and Kamalbhan Singh Marabi (Chhattisgarh) ordered the completion of numerous railway projects in South Western Railway zone. The committee reportedly pulled up the officials of the railway zone for the slow completion of various projects.

In 2014, Rahul Ramesh Shewale was in the news when Shiv Sena party  replaced him with Yashodhar Phanse as Standing Committee Chairman of Brihanmumbai Municipal Corporation (BMC). It may be noted Rahul held the position for four consecutive years. The standing committee is a crucial position that deals with financial matters of the civic body.

The Free Press Journal assessed the on-ground performance of Rahul Ramesh Shewale by speaking to a few locals from his constituency. Residents said that the MP was not seen on the ground, during the past five years. “He did not respond to our written grievances,” said Gaurang Vora, resident of Chembur.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Elections 2024: What Chennai residents and civic groups want their MPs to address

Civic organisations in Chennai have voiced several concerns and put forward demands for clean air, better mobility, housing and fisher welfare.

With the 2024 Lok Sabha elections around the corner, the candidates contesting in the polls are busy campaigning to garner votes. Every one of them makes their poll promises during these campaigns, but very few of these are fulfilled in reality. Voters in the city want pending issues to be addressed. Meanwhile, various civic groups in the city have a plethora of demands that they are putting forward for the political parties and their candidates representing the different constituencies in Chennai. Here are a few such demands that the civic groups in Chennai would like to highlight for the progress…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha Elections 2024: Chennai North — Know your constituency and candidates

North Chennai constituency has ports and polluting industries that endanger the ecology and have always been in conflict with the residents here.

Chennai North is a Lok Sabha constituency composed of the assembly segments including Royapuram, Kolathur, T.V.K.Nagar, Perambur, Thiruvottiyur and Dr Radhakrishnan Nagar. This constituency elected its first Member of Parliament in 1957. The incumbent MP is Dr. Kalanidhi Veeraswamy. Chennai North is not only home to many red-category industries that stretch from North Chennai through Manali to Ennore but also hosts the city’s largest garbage dump — Kodungaiyur dump yard. The constituency has two coal-fired power plants and their ash dumps, coal stacking yards, a 10.5 million tonnes/year petroleum refinery, dozens of petrochemical industries, fertiliser plants, three large ports and…