Meet Sadananda Gowda, the MP-elect from Bangalore North

D V Sadananda Gowda, former minister in the Modi cabinet, has been elected as the MP from Bangalore North again. He secured over one lakh votes more than his closest rival, Krishna Byre Gowda of the Congress.

D V Sadananda Gowda of Bharatiya Janata Party has retained his Bangalore North seat, becoming an MP for the fourth time. Gowda got 8.2 lakh votes or 52.83 percent of the total votes polled. His closest rival, Congress candidate Krishna Byre Gowda – MLA and Minister in Karnataka’s ruling coalition – trailed behind Gowda by over a lakh votes.

Sadananda Gowda had handled three portfolios in the Modi cabinet – Minister of Railways, Minister of Law, and eventually Minister of Statistics and Programme Implementation.

Straight match

Bangalore North has been BJP’s stronghold since 2004. Sadananda Gowda had won the 2014 elections from here by a huge margin of 2,29,764 votes. But it seemed this election would be a tough battle between him and Krishna Byre Gowda, both of whom are Vokkaligas.

Bangalore North is considered a cosmopolitan area that retains pockets of traditionalism. Voters here include a large number of migrants. Many of them had settled here due to property development in the area that followed the launch of the international airport.

The constituency went to polls on April 18th, in the second phase of the 2019 general elections. It registered 54.63 percent polling. Bangalore North is the constituency with the highest number of registered voters in all of Karnataka – 28,48,402.

Here are the candidates who won the most votes as per the website of Election Commission of India:

Candidate Political Party Votes secured Percentage vote share
D V Sadananda Gowda Bharatiya Janata Party 8,21,934 52.83%
Krishna Byregowda Indian National Congress 6,75,834 43.44%
Santhosh M Uttama Prajaakeeya Party 6596 0.42%
Syed Kawjawali Hydri Bahujan Samaj Party 5283 0.34%


Gowda had started his political career back in the 80s, by joining Jan Sangh. He contested and won the state assembly elections in 1994 and 1999 from Puttur assembly constituency. Between 1999 and 2004, he was also the deputy leader of opposition in the assembly.

In 2004 and 2009, he contested in the Lok Sabha elections from Dakshina Kannada and Chikkamagaluru parliamentary constituencies respectively. He won both elections with healthy margins. In 2011, he took charge as the Chief Minister of Karnataka, following the resignation of B S Yedyurappa.

He contested in the 2014 Lok Sabha election from Bangalore North parliamentary constituency, and won again. In the previous Modi cabinet, Gowda was briefly the Minister of Railways. He was soon moved to the Law Ministry, and later to the Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation. Gowda is an LLB graduate. There are no criminal cases pending against him. He has assets worth around Rs 20 crore, and liabilities of around Rs 10 cr.


Promises and plans

In one of his campaign rallies, Gowda said that he and late MP Ananth Kumar had done their best to bring maximum funds to Karnataka. He assured that he would continue to do so while contributing to the development of his constituency.

“Apart from the works taken up in the constituency, I have given double funds to the state as Railway Minister when compared with Mallikarjun Kharge, and introduced 21 trains. As Law Minister, I have removed 1154 obsolete laws… What is important is standing up for the State’s interests and not boasting about minor works,” Gowda said in a recent interview to The Hindu.

In an interview to the Deccan Herald, Gowda said he had constructed schools in his constituency with the help of corporate giants. He also said that he had visited all eight assembly constituencies in Bangalore North 100-130 times, and knew the pulse of the public.

Gowda has not presented any specific promise or agenda on how he would work for Bangalore North constituency. You can find only mentions of national issues or BJP retweets on his twitter feed. During his election campaign, #mattommemodi was the primary theme on his feed.

See Also: Gowda’s MP Profile, 2014-19


  1. G.r. murali mohan says:

    Sadananda gowda visit his constituency 100 to 130 tomes claim is not correct . We never saw or peep on to his area once
    Even the recent lok sabha election.We never saw his face.only because of Modi we have voted him. This is the the voters feelngs known to me.

  2. C S VENKATESH says:

    i am a Sr citizen from Bangalore south, follower of BJP, mobilized votes in my own way for BJP win. i want to meet personally both Sadananda Gowda & Tejaswi surya. kindly provide me their official address , contact details and guide me to take appointment to meet them regarding our 7th pay commission benefits are being denied by an I A S officer for vested interest. i want to experience how our elected representatives will solve it. kindly help me

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…