Meet PC Mohan, the MP-elect from Bangalore Central

P C Mohan of BJP has been elected as the MP from Bangalore Central for the third time. He has defeated Rizwan Arshad of Congress by around 70,000 votes. Mohan's major promise for Bengaluru is implementation of the suburban rail

P C Mohan has emerged as the winner again from Bangalore Central parliamentary constituency, scoring a hat-trick.

Bangalore Central comprises eight assembly constituencies – Rajajinagar, Chamrajpet, Gandhinagar, Shivajinagar, Shantinagar, Sarvagnanagar, CV Raman Nagar and Mahadevapura. The majority of voters in this constituency are linguistic and religious minorities. Large slums, the Central Business District, gated communities in newer areas like Bellandur and Whitefield, are all part of Bangalore Central.

The voter turnout in the constituency was only 45.34 percent this election. Mohan won the seat with 50.35 percent of the vote share, which accounted for over six lakh votes. Rizwan Arshad of the Congress, who had contested against Mohan in 2014 too, came a close second again this time, with 44.34 percent votes. Actor and activist Prakash Raj came third, with a mere 2.41 percent votes.

Here are candidates who got the most votes, as per data from the Election Commission of India:

Candidate Political party Votes secured Percentage vote share
P C Mohan Bharatiya Janata Party 6,02,853 50.35%
Rizwan Arshad Indian National Congress 5,31,885 44.43%
Prakash Raj Independent 28,906 2.41%
NOTA   10,760 0.9%


Mohan had started his political career in 1993 with the BJP. In 1996, he contested the Lok Sabha election from Chikkaballapura constituency, and lost. He contested the state assembly elections later, and remained an MLA from Chickpet assembly constituency from 1999 to 2008. In 2007, he was appointed the State Treasurer of BJP.

In 2009, he was elected as a Lok Sabha MP for the first time, from Bangalore Central constituency. He won from the constituency again in 2014. He was appointed the BJP State Vice President in 2018.

During his previous term (2014-19), Mohan had supported the citizens’ movement in Whitefield against Graphite India Ltd that was polluting the area. Mohan has used Rs 23.9 cr out of the Rs 25 cr fund available to him under the MPLADS (MP Local Area Development Scheme), mainly for:

  • Road widening at Carmelaram railway crossing
  • Construction of ITPL halt station and overbridge between KR Puram and Whitefield railway stations
  • LED street lights and CCTV cameras at Banaswadi
  • Providing water and building toilets at schools, hospitals etc

Mohan’s Facebook and Twitter feeds show very few of his own posts. He has mostly shared/retweeted posts by former Primer Minister Modi. In his original posts, Mohan has mostly criticised the Congress government in Karnataka.

As per Mohan’s website, he hails from a business family in Bengaluru. He has sanitary retail shops and real estate dealerships across the city. Mohan has studied till the 12th standard. There are no pending criminal cases against him. He has declared assets of over Rs 75 crore and liabilities of Rs 32 cr.

Promises and plans

In a recent interview to The Hindu, Mohan said, “I will ensure that the suburban rail project is implemented. It is expected to ferry up to 35 lakh people and bring traffic down by 25%. My other focus areas are expansion of Namma Metro to the airport, the Smart City project, and lake development under the Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) programme.”

In an interview to Citizen Matters in 2009, he had said, “I would like to concentrate on infrastructure, then public amenities and environmental issues. These are the three issues I would like to concentrate for my constituency.”

In a 2014-19 ‘Report Card’ that Mohan prepared on himself, he says ,“I have proposed and supported a movement for a separate Master Plan for Mahadevapura zone. This vast constituency is the country’s tech hub and is the highest employment generating area in Bengaluru, but with very poor infrastructure. A separate master plan for the area can help it develop in an organised manner and meet the needs of the fast-growing locality.”

See also: P C Mohan’s MP Profile, 2014-19

Watch an interview with PC Mohan by Rohit Gharabude, a freelance political reporter:  


  1. manoj lathia says:

    Dear Mr Arvindji and P C mohan ji,

    This is for your information regarding Bangalore central parliament constituency & Mahadevpura assembly segment

    Please find attachment of TOI where you will see BJP candidate won by 75000 votes only due to Mahadevpura assembly segment but both of you have done nothing for Mahadevpura specially nallarihuli road siddhapura kundanhalli etc
    We are living in Nallarihulli road siddhapura

    We have no proper road
    We have no street lights
    We have no foot path
    We have no drainage system it is open

    Garbage is every where power fluctuations and
    power cut is frequent

    Roads are full of encroachment

    I want one appointment pl give me one date or visit our street to find our pain with local corporate who is not replying

    Now election is over y day I had Mr modiji on TV he speaks very good but you people don’t deliver

    MP says MLA will do MLA will says Corporate will do Corporate will says BBMP or BESCOM will do but no one will do the work

    We want work no words I have registered complaint with PMO many times but once work started now it has been stopped .Local Corporate is not replying
    To day I once again have written to PMO

    Your Communication has been registered with registration number PMOPG/E/2019/0250268. Please visit at: for further details.

    My name is manoj lathia address is silicon pride Nallarihulli road siddha pura bangalore 560066 moblie no 7890152476

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

BJP candidate Harsh Malhotra is up against AAP candidate Kuldeep Kumar in East Delhi. Take a look at their profiles and of others in the fray.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothIncumbent MP : Gautam Gambhir, BJPOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency East Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency is one of the seven parliamentary constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. Constituted in 1966, it is one of the most densely populated constituencies with a population of around 25 lakh. It comprises the following areas: Gandhi Nagar, Shahdara, Krishna Nagar, Laxmi Nagar Vishwas Nagar, Patparganj, Janpura, Trilokpuri (SC), Kondli (SC) and Okhla.  As of…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: South Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

Ramvir Singh Bidhuri of the BJP is contesting the South Delhi seat in place of sitting MP Ramesh Bidhuri. Who is he up against?

About the constituency Established in 1966, South Delhi Constituency is Delhi’s fourth largest constituency in terms of number of voters and is made up of Bijwasan, Palam, Mehrauli, Chhatarpur, Deoli (SC), Ambedkar Nagar (SC), Sangam Vihar, Kalkaji, Tughlakabad and Badarpur. The villages are largely dominated by the Gujjar community. It’s an upmarket area and is often referred to as the financial capital of the state. As of January 2024, the constituency had around 22.21 lakh voters, including roughly 12.34 lakh men and 9.86 lakh women, many of whom live in the urban villages or unauthorised colonies. This constituency had BJP’s…