Info for Voters- Yelahanka Constituency – MLA, Candidates, Voting and more

If you are one among the lakhs of voters of Yelahanka, this is what you need to know!

Background information

Incumbent MLA: S R Vishwanath

List of candidates, 2018

M N Gopalakrishna –

Indian National Congress

  • Family: Wife, 3 children
  • Educational Qualification: PUC
  • Profession: Agriculturalist, Real Estate
  • Number of Pending Criminal Cases: None
  • Net Worth (2018)
    1. Income Tax Returns: 29.44Lacs+14.81Lacs(spouse)
    2. Movable Assets: 54.10Lacs+1.03cr(spouse)+1.60Lacs(daughter)1.75Lacs(daughter)+1.21Lacs(son)
    3. Immovable Assets: 12.11cr+6.90cr(spouse)
    4. Liabilities: None
S R Vishwanath –

Bharatiya Janata Party

  • Family: Wife, 2 children
  • Educational Qualification: MS from Jairam Institute of Technology
  • Profession: Agriculturist, Social Activist
  • Online:
  • Pending criminal cases: None
  • Net Worth (2018)
    1. Income Tax Returns: 56.76Lacs+60.76Lacs
    2. Movable Assets: 38.08Lacs+94.40Lacs(spouse)
    3. Immovable Assets: 4.33cr+2.18cr(spouse)
    4. Liabilities: None
A M Hanumanthegowda

Janata Dal (Secular)

  • Family: Wife, 2 children, 1 dependent
  • Educational Qualification: PUC
  • Profession: APMC Director/Business
  • Online
  • Pending Criminal Cases: None
  • Net Worth (2018)
    1. Income Tax Return: 1.24cr+27.09Lacs(spouse)
    2. Movable Assets: 45.51Lacs+7.95Lacs(spouse)
    3. Immovable Assets: 11.39cr+10.69cr(spouse)
    4. Liabilities: NIL

Full list of candidates:

[embeddoc url=”” width=”100%”  download=”all”]

Previous Results

2013 candidates Party Votes Age Vote Share
S R VIshwanath BJP 75507 50 38.5%
B.Chandrappa JD(S) 57110 50 29.12%
Gopalakrishna MN INC 52372 42 26.7%
Venugopal Rao KJP 3736 42 1.9%
Eranna G BSP 1538 34 0.78%


2008 candidates Party Votes Age Vote Share
S R Vishwanath BJP 60975 45 41.36%
B Chandrappa INC 44953 45 30.49%
E Krishnappa JD(S) 37070 50 25.14%
Sunitha A H BSP 1740 31 1.18%
K V Vishwanath IND 1218 41 0.83%

Citizen Demands

About the Constituency:

[flexiblemap src=“” width=“100%” height=“400px” ]

Yelahanka was a reserved constituency until the 2004 Assembly elections. Following delimitation, it became a general one. It comprises Atturu, Kempegowda, Chowdeshwari and Yelahanka Satellite Town wards.

As Yelahanka is near to the Kempegowda International Airport (KIA), this is quite a busy region. Land prices shot up after the airport came up. The roads too became busy and bustling. The increase in traffic, supermarkets and commercial establishments has made it quite a busy and urban land..

The population in Yelahanka is a mix of defence, rural as well as urban communities. The main problems here include the lack of drinking water as well as good roads, especially for places in the rural belt. Yelahanka’s parks and trees do make it look healthier than the main city. The main problems that stalk the region include asphalting, drainage and the lack of drinking water. With the borewells and lakes in the city rapidly decreasing, it is expected that the city will soon face a major water crisis. Citizens have egged the BBMP to put in some effort to revive Hessaraghatta and Puttanahalli lakes.

  • The number of voters in 2013: 293,212
  • Currently, the total number of registered voters: 387,664

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…