Info for voters of Govindrajnagar Constituency- MLA, Candidates, Voting and more

If you are one among the lakhs of voters of Govindrajnagar, this is what you need to know!

Background information

Incumbent MLA: Priya Krishna

Sitting MLA Priya Krishna won with a vote share of 55.36% in 2013. He was only 29 then. He is the son of MLA M Krishnappa (also known as Layout Krishnappa), also an MLA, representing Vijayanagar Constituency. He is of the richest candidates with Rs 910 Crore+ in assets, 777 cr in liabilities in 2013. Current assets are 1020 crores and liabilities 802 crores.

Priya Krishna, a post-graduate with a degree in Law, has been active in the party since 2006, helping out with campaign work with his father.

List of candidates, 2018


Indian National Congress

V Somanna

Bharatiya Janata Party

  • Family: Wife, 1 dependant
  • Educational Qualification: BE
  • Profession: Vidhana Parishad member
  • Number of Pending Criminal Cases: 1
  • Net Worth:
    • IT Returns: Self-62.04Lacs, Spouse-84.35Lacs
    • Movable Assets: Self-4.28cr, Spouse-8.35cr
    • Immovable Assets: Self-4.46cr, Spouse-35.82cr
    • Liabilities:2 cr

A Nagendra Prasad

Janata Dal (secular)

  • Family: Wife, 3 dependants
  • Educational Qualification: PUC (incomplete)
  • Profession: Travel Business
  • Number of Pending Criminal Cases:
  • Net Worth:
    • IT Returns: NIL
    • Movable Assets: Self-12.51Lacs, Spouse-5.66Lacs, Dependant-1000Rs
    • Immovable Assets: NIL
    • Liabilities: 6 Lakhs

Full list of candidates

[embeddoc url=”” width=”100%”  download=”all”]

Previous Results

2013 candidates Party Votes Age Vote Share %
Priyakrishna INC 72654 29 55.36%
H Ravindra BJP 30194 50 23.01%
T M Range Gowda JD(S) 20662 68 15.74%


2008 candidates Party Votes Age Vote Share %
Priyakrishna INC 64176 NA 50.63%
V Somanna BJP 58937 NA 46.5%
D Mahadev IND 705 NA 0.56%

Citizen Demands

About constituency

The constituency covers Prashanth Nagar, Corporation Colony, BMP Colony, Govindaraja Nagar, Magadi Chord road Layout, Thimmenahalli, CHBS Layout, Binni Layout, Vijaya Nagar 1st Stage and a few other areas. The voter count, 2013: 239,480.  It has gone up to 292,973 as of May 2018.


[flexiblemap src=”” width=”100%” height=”400px” ]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

The trials of a school in Northeast Delhi in the aftermath of the 2020 riots

Rioters had left the Arun Modern Senior Secondary Public School in shambles in 2020. Here's the tale of its journey from then to now.

Kakul Sharma was in class 8 in 2020 when the Delhi riots occurred. Although she was safe at home, her school was attacked by a mob. "I thought I would never be able to go back to school. We believed that the world was ending. My sister cried all day when she saw a news channel telecasting the rubble of our school.” For the children of Northeast Delhi, like Kakul, the riot meant a school blackened by smoke, a charred library, broken benches, and a playground that looked like it was hit by a tornado. This was the shape in…

Similar Story

Push government to implement all welfare measures in Street Vendors Act : Lekha Adavi

Lekha Adavi, a member of AICTU, says that without BBMP elections, there are no corporators to address the issues of street vendors.

(In part 1 of the interview series, Lekha Adavi, member of the All India Centre of Trade Unions (AICTU), spoke about the effects of climate change on Bengaluru’s street vendors. In part 2, she highlights how The Street Vendors Act (Protection of Livelihood and Regulation of street vending) 2014 falls short in its implementation) Excerpts: How do you engage with local authorities or municipal agencies to raise awareness of the challenges faced by street vendors during temperature surges? What responses or support do they provide? Lekha: Well, they don't respond to any of our demands. In Bengaluru, the BBMP elections…