All you need to know about ward 72 – Herohalli

What are the issues in Herohalli ward? What did BBMP spend money on? Did that solve the problem?

72 – Herohalli


A huge ward spreading over 7.8 sqkm with over 62,000 people, Herohalli is a devloping area on the outskirts of the ever-expanding city. More information on the ward is here:

MLA (2013): S T Somashekar (INC), Yeshwantpura
MP (2014): D V Sadananda Gowda (BJP), Bangalore North

BBMP 2010

Corporator: A.M. Hanumanthegowda (JD(S))
#7, Sonnenahalli, Ullal, Kengeri, Bangalore-56. Ph: 9845375494
Reservation: BC-B

Winner’s percentage: 23.9
Winner’s margin: 2269
Total votes polled: 21948
Total voters: 43177

BBMP 2015

Total voters: 62394
Male: 33260
Female: 29127
Others: 7
Reserved: OBC-A

Contesting Candidates

BJP: H Raghunandan
INC: Rajanna
JDS: Srikanth
BSP: Mahesh Kumar
Independent: Purushotham, H Venugopal, P Shivaraju


  • Population (2011): 62272
  • Households: 16215
  • Area: 7.8 sq km

Civic Amenities/Infrastructure

  • Road length: 365 km
  • Lakes: Mallathahalli, Vishwanedum, Herohalli, Total area: 36.3 sq km
  • Parks: 27, Total area: 11 sq km
  • Playgrounds: 4, Total area: 2.5 sq km

Active citizen groups/RWAs

If you represent any RWA from this area, please click here and fill your info. It will be added to this space after verification.


More information on candidates

No candidates have filled the information collection form so far. If you know anyone contesting, do ask them to fill the Candidate Information Form as soon as possible.

How was the money spent? Tenders, job codes, bills:

  • Click on the sections corresponding to complaints, tenders and bills, to get a feel of what are the problems, what is being addressed, how much money is being spent, and is it really happening on ground.
  • Scroll using your arrow keys to see the details within the sections.

Click here to view the raw data.

Data Courtesy

BBMP, Janaagraha, BBMP Restructuring Committee website

Disclaimer: This data is an extract; it is not complete, and not verified independently. It may not be from the entire tenure of BBMP council 2010-15.

Related Articles

BBMP Elections 2015: Special coverage by Citizen Matters
‘Cash for coverage’ comes to BBMP elections too
Less educated, but stinking rich: Will this be the new set of BBMP corporators?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: West Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

West Delhi will see Mahabal Mishra on an AAP ticket this time, against the BJP's Kamaljeet Sehrawat. More on them and others in the contest.

Table of contentsAt a glance- West Delhi ConstituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP: Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma, BJPCandidates contesting in 2024Additional informationKey candidates in the newsKey issues and challenges in the constituencyAlso read The Delhi West Lok Sabha constituency comprises ten Vidhan Sabha constituencies: 26-Madipur, 27-Rajouri Garden, 28-Hari Nagar, 29-Tilak Nagar, 30-Janakpuri, 31- Vikaspuri, 32-Uttam Nagar, 33-Dwarka, 34-Matiala, 35-Najafgarh. The first five fall in the West Delhi district and the next five in the South West Delhi district. The constituency as it exists today came into being in 2008 after the delimitation. The first member of Parliament to be…