All you need to know about Ward 45 – Malleshwaram

How was the 2010-15 BBMP tenure for Malleshwaram ward? What were the works done? What are the issues troubling the citizens here?

45 – Malleshwaram


When you look at the pending bills list of Malleshwaram ward, this looks peculiar: a list of entries for which no contractor has been mentioned, no year in which the work order was given is applicable or no details are available for the payments made.

One more highlight of this election is, the incumbent corporator, Jaypal N who had won from Congress last time is contesting with a BJP ticket this time. The reservation that was SC in 2010 has changed to general in this election. More information on the ward for you:

MLA (2013): Dr. Ashwath Narayan C N (BJP), Malleshwaram
MP (2014): D V Sadananda Gowda (BJP), Bangalore North

BBMP 2010:

Corporator: N. Jayapala (INC), Reservation:BC-A
# 28, 6th cross, 3rd main road, Gokula Layout, Divaanara Palya, Bangalore-54. Ph:9379799099

Winner’s percentage: 21.6
Winner’s margin:858
Total votes: 14158
Total voters: 33472

BBMP 2015:

Total voters: 30220
Male: 15644
Female: 14575
Others: 2

Reserved: General

Contesting Candidates:

BJP: N Jayapala
Congress: Dr Rajesh Mannar Naidu
JDS: Suresh Kumar
Loksatta: Rajesh Babu


Population (2011): 34196
Voters: 29890
Households: 8503
Area: 1.8sq km

Civic Amenities/Infrastructure

Road length: 373 km
Lakes: , Total area:0 sq km
Parks: 4, Total area:1.4 sq km
Playground: 0, Total area:0 sq km

Active Citizen groups/RWAs

  • Malleshwaram Swabhimana Initiative
  • We Care for Malleshwaram

If you represent any RWA from this area, please click here and fill your info. It will be added to this space after verification.

More information on candidates

Citizen Matters is yet to received details from candidates. If you do not find a particular candidate on this page, do ask them to fill this form as soon as possible.

Tenders, Work orders and other ward-related data

  • Click on the sections corresponding to complaints, tenders and bills, to get a feel of what are the problems, what is being addressed, how much money is being spent, and is it really happening on ground.
  • Scroll using your arrow keys to see the details within the sections.

What’s bothering the residents? Complaints represented in a wordcloud

Data Courtesy

BBMP, Janaagraha, BBMP Restructuring Committee website

Click here for raw data.


  1. Sujata says:

    There is a injured, destitute man lying on the road near the Milk colony bus stop since the last 10 days. Can you please help out.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

The trials of a school in Northeast Delhi in the aftermath of the 2020 riots

Rioters had left the Arun Modern Senior Secondary Public School in shambles in 2020. Here's the tale of its journey from then to now.

Kakul Sharma was in class 8 in 2020 when the Delhi riots occurred. Although she was safe at home, her school was attacked by a mob. "I thought I would never be able to go back to school. We believed that the world was ending. My sister cried all day when she saw a news channel telecasting the rubble of our school.” For the children of Northeast Delhi, like Kakul, the riot meant a school blackened by smoke, a charred library, broken benches, and a playground that looked like it was hit by a tornado. This was the shape in…

Similar Story

Push government to implement all welfare measures in Street Vendors Act : Lekha Adavi

Lekha Adavi, a member of AICTU, says that without BBMP elections, there are no corporators to address the issues of street vendors.

(In part 1 of the interview series, Lekha Adavi, member of the All India Centre of Trade Unions (AICTU), spoke about the effects of climate change on Bengaluru’s street vendors. In part 2, she highlights how The Street Vendors Act (Protection of Livelihood and Regulation of street vending) 2014 falls short in its implementation) Excerpts: How do you engage with local authorities or municipal agencies to raise awareness of the challenges faced by street vendors during temperature surges? What responses or support do they provide? Lekha: Well, they don't respond to any of our demands. In Bengaluru, the BBMP elections…