Hebbal by-polls on Feb 13: What voters need to know

As many as 20 candidates are in the fray for the MLA election in Hebbal constituency. Check the details of the candidates and how you can vote.

By-election for Hebbal Legislative Assembly Constituency is just a week’s away. The Chief Electoral Officer of Karnataka has announced the date for by-election to Hebbal and two other constituencies. The election for the three constituencies, Hebbal, Bidar and Devadurga, is scheduled for February 13th. The by-election in Hebbal is to fill up the vacant post that was created following the death of MLA Jagadish Kumar last November.

As many as 20 candidates are in the fray in the Hebbal constituency. During the last election, the BJP candidate had won the seat. As this by-election is seen as a matter of ‘prestige’ for the leading political parties, there was quite a bit of noise in the selection of candidates too. While the Congress has fielded party veteran C K Jaffer Sharief’s grandson Abdul Rahman Sharief to fight the election, the BJP has fielded sitting MLC Y A Narayanaswamy and JD(S) nominated Ismail Sharieff. Abdul Rahman Sharief had contested from Hebbal in the last assembly election too, but was defeated by the BJP candidate.

Here is a brief note about the candidates.

CK Abdul Rahman Sharief (Congress)

Rahman Sharief is the richest among all candidates. An active Facebook user during the last Assembly election, he had sought votes with claims of his grandfather’s contribution to politics and society.

Rahman Sharief has also made several promises to Hebbal voters, in his web page. Promises include annual citizen-based review of his performances, empowering the youth, solving water issues, making the constituency garbage-free etc.

Age: 32 years

Education qualification: SSLC + Online Diploma course in Enterprises and Entrepreneurs (from London School of Business and Finance)

Profession: Director in private firms. Also Trustee of KNS Memorial Charitable Trust

Assets: Rs 2.52 crore (movable) and Rs 22.75 crore (immovable)

Criminal records: NIL

Facebook profile: www.facebook.com/ckabdulrahmansharief

Website: www.ckabdulrahmansharief.com

Ismail Sharieff Nana (JDS)

Age: 41 years

Education qualification: High School

Profession: Self-employed

Assets: Rs 25.50 lakh (movable) and Rs 5 crore (immovable)

Criminal records: NIL

Y A Narayanaswamy (BJP) 

Age: 52

Education: BE (Civil), ME (Water Resource Engineering)

Profession: MLC (Teachers Constituency). Also an engineering consultant, agriculturist and social servant

Assets: Rs 1.6 crore (movable) and Rs 10.68 crore (immovable)

Criminal records: NIL

Other party candidates

  • Hunsur K Chandrashekhar (DPP)
  • K Nagarathna (Republican Party of India)
  • K A Mohan (KDC)
  • Dr Manjunath Nayak (ANC)
  • Supreeth Poojary (HJP)

Independent candidates

  • Anjan Kumar
  • Ambrose D’Mello
  • T K Dasar
  • Deepak Rajesh Coelho
  • Nagesh S
  • Pavithra
  • Munibylappa
  • B S Manjunath
  • Vinay Kumar
  • Dr P K Velladurai
  • Syed Asif Bukhari
  • Ali Haider

To view all candidate affidavits, click here.

Calendar of events for the election

  • January 27th was the last date for filing nominations.

  • January 30th was the last date for withdrawing nominations.

  • Election to be conducted on February 13th.

  • Counting of votes on February 16th.

Here is what the Hebbal voters should know before voting

What documents are allowed as ID proof?

Possession of EPIC alone will not guarantee you your vote, because it is mandatory that your name should appear in the electoral roll. For this, you have to check in the electoral roll whether your name is included or not. If your name is enrolled in the voters list, on the day of election, you should produce your identification document at the voting venue. Election Commission accepts following cards as ID and address proof:

  • Passport

  • Driving License

  • Income Tax Identity (PAN) Card

  • Service Identity Card with photograph issued to its employees by State/Central Government, Public Sector Undertakings or Public Limited Companies

  • Passbook with photograph issued by Public Sector Banks/Post Office and Kisan Passbooks

  • Student Identity Card with photograph issued by recognised Educational Institutions

  • Property Documents with photographs such as pattas, Registered Deeds

  • Ration Card with photograph

  • SC/ST/OBC Certificate with photograph issued by competent authority

  • Pension Documents with photographs such as ex-servicemen’s Pension Book/Pension Payment Order, ex-servicemen’s Widow/Dependent Certificates, Old Age Pension Order, Widow Pension Order

  • Freedom Fighter Identity Card

  • Arms License with photograph

  • Certificate of Physical Handicap with photograph issued by Competent Authority

  • Ex-servicemen CSD canteen card with photograph

  • Sandhya Suraksha Scheme card with photograph

  • Job Card, with photograph issued under NREGA Scheme

  • Yashaswini Card with photograph

How to check for name in the voters list?

You can search for your name in the voters list by logging on to the Election Commission of India website. You can search using your voter ID or name or relationship details which you had entered in Form-6 during the registration.

How to find polling booth details?

SMS your electoral photo ID card number to 97319 79899 in the following format: KAEPIC <space> Voter ID Card number.

Related Articles

All you need to know about Ward 21 – Hebbal
BBMP corporators and their contact numbers – 2015
High rises and water crisis cripple Hebbal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Bangalore Rural β€” Know your constituency and candidates

Industrial effluents, depleting ground water and green cover, traffic issues plague Bangalore Rural Parliamentary Constituency.

Table of contentsConstituency mapAt a glanceFind your polling boothKey candidates contesting in the Lok Sabha elections 2024Additional informationPast election resultsKey issuesCandidates in the newsAlso read: Bangalore Rural (Parliamentary Constituency number 23) comprises eight assembly constituencies: 131-Kunigal, 154-Rajarajeshwari, 176-Bangalore South, 177-Anekal Nagar, 182-Magadi, 183-Ramanagaram, 184-Kanakapura and 185-Channapatna. Bangalore South assembly constituency, comprising wards like Yelachenahalli, Begur and Anjanapura, should not be confused with the Bangalore South parliamentary constituency. Bangalore Rural constituency was created during the delimitation in 2008. The ex-chief minister of Karnataka, H D Kumaraswamy of JD(S), was the first MP to be elected from this constituency in 2009. Since…

Similar Story

Mumbai: Which Parliamentary constituency do you belong to?

Identifying and locating your parliamentary constituency helps you understand the issues of the area and know your candidates better.

Mumbai goes to the polls on 20th May. With the seven-phase Lok Sabha elections underway, are you wondering which constituency you belong to? Knowing your Parliamentary constituency will help you find the candidates for whom you can cast your vote. Here is a list of the constituencies in Mumbai. Mumbai is divided into two districts: Mumbai City and Mumbai Suburban. In both the districts together, there are six constituencies. Each of these parliamentary constituencies is further divided into the following assembly segments. Use this link to look at an enlarged map of your constituency. Mumbai North Mumbai North parliamentary constituency…