Tracking Dasarahalli MLA Muniraju

S Muniraju is a two-term MLA from Dasarahalli. He won his seat in 2013 with high margin of almost 22 thousand votes. Muniraju states he started his political career as labour leader  from 1976 before joining the BJP. Muniraju in his affidavit states there are four cases pending against him. The tenth pass MLA has declared assets worth Rs 1.45 crores in currency other forms without including land.

Dasarhalli has elected BBMP corporators from all three parties though the BJP has the numbers. The issues are similar to all the newly added areas to Greater Bengaluru – lack of drains, water scarcity and roads. 


Muniraju’s affidavits filed show that his annual income from entire family with three dependents was Rs. 1,27,38,260 in 2013. This declined to Rs 67,49,181 in 2018, with dependents reduced to two.

His declared cumulative movable assets for his family including his wife and three dependents were Rs 2,50,37,905 in 2013. This rose to Rs.5,23,47,625 in 2018.

Immovable assets declared are worth Rs 31,43,61,455 in 2018.

More info: Myneta profile for Muniraju

Muniraju in the Assembly:

S Muniraju has been a member of Committee on Papers Laid on the Table.

  • Attendance % in Assembly: 90%
  • Starred questions: 9
  • Unstarred questions: 95

Muniraju in the news

December 23, 2014: The police station in Rajagopalnagar limits has 250 registered rowdies with cops visibly having low morale. The MLA requested the government for a new station inspector to curb the rising crime rates.

October 17, 2015: At a press conference, Dasarahalli residents complained about acute water woes. The MLA S Muniraju said he did not have a solution since the Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission allocating Rs 549 crore had been withdrawn. Hence, a new project had to budgeted and tabled.

April 14, 2017: The BBMP had taken the initiative to convert a quarry used for dumping garbage into a public recreational centre. The Dasarahalli MLA was all praise for the councillor’s effort, and said that the project will be completed stage by stage in five years.

October 1, 2017: The MLA is confident about winning his seat back third time in a row. He claims to have met the promises made in his mandate; rejuvenating five lakes, renovating 40 parks and changing the UGD system for the constituency.

October 12, 2014: When the founder of Bengaluru, Kempegowda I’s tomb was found by historians in Kemapura, the MLA made an appearance with several BJP leaders and made promises.

January 20, 2016: Former Minister Katta Subramanya Naidu was convinced by S Muniraju to support the candidate in Hebbal due to his stronghold over the constituency.

November 4, 2016: Justice Anand Byrareddy of the Special Lokayukta Court quashed all criminal proceedings against MLA Muniraju in a private land grab case.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…