What has Chickpet MLA been up to in the last five years?

Devaraj's track record in assembly shows that he didn't ask any questions, didn't participate in any debates.

Ronur Venkateshappa Devraj is a three-time MLA currently representing the Chickpet constituency. He was previously elected twice from the Chamrajpet constituency, before delimitation of constituencies that changed the borders. His is a rags-to-riches story. Devraj’s father was a vegetable merchant at the city market and Devraj was the fourth son. He started his political career with the Youth Congress in 1970s was the Block Congress Committee Secretary, Chamarajpet.

He entered the Assembly in 1989 from Chamrajpet and won the constituency twice consecutively. His close proximity to former Chief Minister S M Krishna was proven when he withdrew his nomination from the constituency that facilitated the former chief minister to contest from it.

He lost to Zameer Ahmed in the 2004 and won a third term to the assembly from the Chickpet constituency. R V Devaraj has been a member of Committee on the Welfare of Scheduled Castes/Scheduled Tribes.

Myneta profile for R V Devaraj

In Assembly:

  • Attendance % in Assembly: 76%
  • Starred questions: 0
  • Unstarred questions: 0

He hasn’t spoken in any of the debates in the assembly, in thee last five years. He was one among the Best MLAs chosen by a media house, Shining India Infomeedia Pvt Ltd.

RV Devaraj in the news: A glimpse of what he’s been up to

Citizen Related Work

December 7, 2013: The MLA accompanied former Mayor BS Satyanarayana on an inspection of the Kempambudhi Garden. The mayor asked the BWSSB to formulate a plan to divert sewage lines.

November 22, 2017: In National Grounds at Basavanagudi, the MLA hosted a mass baby shower for over 450 pregnant women in his constituency.

January 23, 2017: At a press conference, he said that Rs 9 crore was alloted by the to develop Kempambudhi Lake in the next four or five months. He also said that 1000 sites were allotted to slum dwellers  worth Rs 5 lakh.

Politics and Controversies

January 20, 2015: The Kalasipalya police registered a case against the MLA and his wife, and five others,for grabbing BBMP land.

On March 12, 2018:  MLA RV Devaraj requested the Social Welfare Minister to replace the primary school in Siddapura and construct an Ambedkar Bhavan in its place. The future of the 60 students remains uncertain.

February 16, 2018: The Karnataka High Court issued a legal notice reprimanding the MLA for his repeated recommendations to the BBMP to allot open spaces in Kalaispatnam market. He went ahead with the recommendations despite the court’s previous ruling barring the activity.  

February 20, 2018:  The MLA’s son RV Yuvaraj and corporator of Sudhama Nagar denied being present during the assault launched by Youth Congress President Mohammed Haris Nalapad.

January 24, 2018: The Slum Development Board Chairman, RV Devaraj, was accused of taking a 10 percent commission when handing out contracts to build homes under the Prime Minister’s Awas Yojana.

KS Eshwarappa, the leader of the opposition, alleged that Rs 250 crore, 10 percent of Prime Minister’s Awas Yojana,  will be used for the expenses in Congress.

August 19, 2017: General Secretary of Congress, KC Venugopal, drew up an action plan for the assembly elections. It included fielding the son of the Chickpet MLA to be run from the constituency.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…