Webinar: How will you track the work of your ward councillor?

How can the residents of Chennai engage with their ward councillor? What are the ways in which they can demand accountability?

With the swearing-in of the councillors, Chennai has an elected local body for the first time since 2016. The councillors who have taken office are a mix of experienced old-timers and those who have been elected for the first time. Half of the council is represented by women. 

While these are promising developments, Chennaiites must be able to engage with their elected representatives and officials from the civic body to ensure effective administration. The push for ward committees and area sabhas is one way there can be an element of participatory planning in local governance. 

Read more: Chennai in 2022: The time for participatory governance is now!

Citizen Matters brings together a panel of experts to discuss how Chennaiites can track the work of their ward councillors, ensure effective functioning and establish platforms where the collective will of the residents is heard and given due consideration. 

Some of the broader questions we want address are:

  • How can people know more about the functioning of their ward councillors?
  • How to audit the expenditure undertaken at the ward-level?
  • What kind of larger vision for the city is essential for the councillors to work effectively? 
  • What are the gaps to be bridged in terms of access to information that will help residents connect with elected representatives and solve issues?

So mark your calendars and join us for this very important discussion.

Date: April 22, 2022

Time: 6pm – 7pm

The webinar will be followed by a brief Q & A session open to participants.

Register here

webinar annoucement chennai councillors
How can Chennaiites hold elected local representatives accountable?

Read more: Chennai Corporation elections: What can citizens expect from the elected council?


  • Shyam Sundar, News of Chennai
  • Charu Govindan, Voice of People
  • Radhakrishnan, Arappor Iyakkam
  • Raghukumar Choodamani, Community Welfare Brigade
  • Inbarasan K G, Institute of Grassroots Governance

Also read

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Mumbai, meet your new MPs from neighbouring Thane and Kalyan

Thane and Kalyan voters elected MPs from Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena. Here is all you need to know about the two winning candidates.

Table of contentsThane: Naresh Mhaske, Shiv SenaElection results for Thane constituencyWho is Naresh Ganpat Mhaske?Political experienceChallenges in the Thane constituencyKey promises made by Naresh MhaskeKalyan: Dr. Shrikant Shinde, Shiv SenaElection results for Kalyan constituencyWho is Dr. Shrikant Shinde?MPLADs spending of Dr. Shrikant ShindePolitical experienceChallenges in the Kalyan constituencyKey promises made by Dr. Shrikant ShindeAlso read: Both the Thane and Kalyan constituencies have been bagged by the Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde led faction) in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The two MPs who have been elected from Thane and Kalyan are Naresh Mhaske and Dr. Shrikant Shinde respectively. Here is comprehensive…

Similar Story

Bengaluru, meet your new MPs

The BJP secured a victory in all four parliamentary constituencies in Bengaluru. Here is a detailed report on the elected MPs.

Table of contentsBangalore North: Shobha Karandlaje, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore North constituencyShobha Karandlaje's political experience Positions heldEducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore South: Tejasvi Surya, BJPAbout Bangalore South constituencyElection resultsTejasvi Surya's political experiencePositions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLAD detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore Central: PC Mohan, BJPAbout Bangalore Central constituencyElection resultsPC Mohan's political experience Positions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLADS detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in constituencyKey promisesBangalore Rural: Dr CN Manjunath, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore Rural constituencyDr. CN Manjunath's political experience EducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesAlso read The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a victory in all four Parliamentary Constituencies in Bengaluru in the 2024…