Is your name there on the draft voter roll list for Chennai?

The draft voter roll list is available at several zonal offices for public view. Find out where you can view it and how you may apply for addition, modification or deletion.

Translated by Sandhya Raju from the original Tamil Press Release by GCC

Chennai District Election Officer and Chennai Corporation Commissioner Gagandeep Singh Bedi jointly released the draft electoral poll list for Chennai, in the presence of the party representatives, earlier this week.

The electoral list includes eligible voters from the 16 constituencies, as of January 1st, 2022. This list is available at 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 13 zonal offices for public view. The public has been requested to check the draft list for addition, modification or deletion.

First-time voters whose names have still not been included or who will be completing 18 years of age as of 1st January 2022 (born before 01.01.2004), can fill Form 6, and those who want to delete the names from the list can fill Form 7.

For modifications in the list, one has to fill Form 8, and those who have shifted their residences within the zones can make a request through Form 8A, with document proof.

The requests for change can be made between November 1 and 30, 2021. The election officials will conduct special camps at designated locations on November 13th, 14th, 27th and 28th to make changes on the rolls.

Read more: Why Chennai will continue to see low voter turnout unless we fix these

The public can also make request amendments through the website 

draft voter list
The draft voter roll list was released by the Commissioner of Chennai Corporation. Pic:GCC

Draft voter roll list

A total of 3750 voting booths have been identified in Chennai, based on which the draft electoral list has been released. Perambur has the maximum number of booths with 297, and the lowest number of booths is in Egmore with 169 booths.

According to the draft electoral rolls released in March 2021, the district had 19,94,505 lakh men, 20,61,473 lakh women and 1,083 transpersons, totaling to 40,57,061 voters in Chennai district.

As part of the continuous amendment exercise, the draft list has 19,92,198 male voters,  20,60,767 female voters, and 1073 trans voters tallying to a total of 40,54,038 voters in the district. While 10,621 men, 11,862 women, and 9 transperson voters have been added to the list; a total of 22,492 voters including12,928 men, 2,568 women, and 19 transperson voters have been deleted from the list.

Read more: Explainer: Who administers and provides public services in Chennai?

The break up of assembly wise segment, in the recent list releases stands as follows:

Draft voter rolls chennai

With 1,76,679 voters, Zone 18, Chennai port has the least number of voters, Zone 26, Velachery has the highest number of voters with 3,15,502 voters.

District Election Officer, Chief Secretary, and Chennai Corporation Commissioner have jointly appealed to people to make use of this opportunity to view the list and ensure that all eligible voters have their names included in the list, to strengthen the democratic process.

[This article is based on a Press Release by Chennai Corporation. Read the original release in Tamil here.]

Also read

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…