Hop on to public transport on this Bus Day!

At least once in a month - at least on Bus Day, can we decide to travel through public transport? Here's the info to help you, if you decide to travel in a bus!


Bangalore Metropolitan Transport Company (BMTC) has initiated some steps aimed at improved mobility and reduction in air pollution in the Bengaluru Metropolis through decongestion of traffic. Bus day is conducted every month, and tomorrow is a Bus day. Excerpts from BMTC press note in this regard:

This month BMTC has decided to observe 55th “Bus Day” on 4th September 2014, Thursday to ensure maximum public participation.

The Bus Day in this month will be observed in the following corridors:

  1. Old Airport Road (ITPL
  2. Sarjapura Road
  3. Hosur Road  
  4. Bannerghatta Road     
  5. Kanakapura Road
  6. Mysore Road,
  7. Magadi Road
  8. Tumkur Road
  9. Bellary Road
  10. Thanisandra Road
  11. Hennur Road & Old Madras Road.

Over and above the normal operation of  6306 schedules with 79648 trips, arrangements have been made to extend the operation of more than 1500 General shift schedules beyond their normal schedule timing to 22 hours on this day thereby adding additional trips to accommodate additional demand.

The following new bus services are introduced on following routes.

  • New bus service on Route No. 306-RA from HAL to Devanagundi via Marathahalli, Kundalahalli,  Hope farm, Channasandra, Dunnasandra with  1 schedule.

  • New bus service on Route No. 356-CN from Neotown to St. John via Gollahalli gate, Electronic city, Bommanahalli, Madiwala with 1 schedule.

  • New bus service on Route No. 220-B from Kempegowda Bus Station to Kengeri Upanagar  via MCTC, BUC gate, Railway gate, Shanthidhama, Byravanagar, Upadhyay Layout, Nagadevanahalli, Kengeri KHB Quarters with  1 schedule.

  • New bus service on Route No. 238-SA from K.R. Market to Sunkadakatte via  Sirsi Circle, MCTC, Nagarabhavi Circle with  2  schedules

  • New bus service on Route No. 201-B from Girinagar 2nd Stage to Dommalur via Banashankari, Madiwala, Viveknagar, Ulsoor with  3 schedules

  • New bus service on Route No. 250-JA from Kempegowda Bus Station to Totadaguddahalli via  Yeshwantapura, Jalahalli Cross, Marison with  1 schedule.

In Route No. 356-CW, 8 trips are modified to operate as Ladies Special trips during peak hours.

This is a press note sent by BMTC, and published as is in the ‘Message Forward’ section, meant for public interest messages by non-profit institutions and individuals.


  1. Vaidya R says:

    An observed corollary to Bus Day: the 5th of every month is No Bus Day. If you have a specific bus at a specific time that you take, remember to not bet on it on the 5th.

  2. skeptic says:

    Is it still ‘Bus Day’? Then it is just an exception, and it is the exception that proves the rule- other days are ‘no bus days’. I would expect that by now Bus Day would have become Bus Week, Bus Month and then Bus Year and may be even the Bus Decade. But I think this is just going to change to Metro days. May be the BMRCL IS better than the corrupt karnatak govt, but only time will tell.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: North East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

In the high profile contest for North East Delhi, BJP's star MP Manoj Tiwari takes on the firebrand Kanhaiya Kumar (INC). Who are the others?

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyAt a glanceMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothPast election resultsIncumbent MP : Manoj Kumar TiwariOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions heldAssets and LiabilitiesPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency Well known for its high migrant labour population from the states of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Bihar, North East Delhi constituency comprises the following areas: Burari, Timarpur, Karawal Nagar, Ghonda, Babarpur, Gokalpur (SC), Seemapuri (SC), Seelampur, Rohtas Nagar and Mustafabad. This constituency has the highest average population density of 36,155 persons per square km — the highest…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: Chandni Chowk — Know your constituency and candidates

Delhi-based businessman, Praveen Khandelwal of the BJP takes on Congress' Jai Prakash Agarwal. Know more about them and other contenders.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the Constituency Find your polling boothIncumbent MP: Harsh Vardhan, BJPOnline PresenceCriminal CasesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD fundsCandidates contesting in 2024Key Candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency  Chandni Chowk Lok Sabha constituency is one of the seven Lok Sabha constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. This constituency came into existence in 1956. It is the smallest constituency of Lok Sabha in terms of area. Since the delimitation of parliamentary constituencies in 2008, it is made up of ten assembly constituencies, which are Adarsh Nagar, Shalimar Bagh, Shakur Basti, Tri…