Decentralisation in BBMP: Zonal matters assigned to Additional/Special Commissioners

From now, the BBMP Commissioner will not be responsible for approving proposals of individual zones. Instead Additional/Special Commissioners will be responsible for two zones each

The jurisdiction of Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike, which extends over 198 wards and 28 Assembly constituencies, has population of more than 1.1 cr. Because of this, providing services and facilities to citizens is becoming a daily struggle.

Due to reorganisation, in many cases one assembly constituency is distributed over more than one zone, and this has created difficulties in citizen and administration related tasks. Presently, many major infrastructure works are being implemented in the BBMP jurisdiction, and many more are in the pipeline.

In the present system, the concerned Joint Commissioners submit all files pertaining to zones for the approval of the Commissioner, through Special Commissioners and Additional Commissioners. Delay is common since all decisions are being taken in a centralised manner, and the Commissioner is under tremendous work pressure. Hence it has become essential to decentralise the BBMP administration in public interest.

To reduce the workload of the Commissioner and to increase the efficiency of BBMP, the government has decided to release the eight zones of BBMP from the purview of the Commissioner, and to place two zones each under BBMP’s Special Commissioners and Additional Commissioners. Under this system, the rights of the Commissioner to decide on all zonal proposals have been assigned to the Special and Additional Commissioners, to decentralise the administration.

Due to this arrangement, the issues pertaining to zones can be resolved at the level of the zones itself. This will increase efficiency, and reduce the time required for work. The eight zones of BBMP have been placed in pairs under four Special Commissioners and Additional Commissioners working presently in BBMP.

Zones Purview
East and Yelahanka
Special/Additional Commissioner
South and Rajarajeshwari Nagar
Special/Additional Commissioner
(Finance and IT)
West and Dasarahalli
Special/Additional Commissioner
Mahadevapura and Bommanahalli
Special/Additional Commissioner

The reallocation of responsibilities for the Commissioner and four Special Commissioners and Additional Commissioners is as below.

Commissioner, BBMP

Commissioner, BBMP, will have the overall supervision responsibility, along with the responsibility of formulating policies and coordinating among departments. The Commissioner will also have the responsibility of overseeing the subjects and wings that have not been assigned to the Special/Additional Commissioners.Commissioner shall place all proposals before the standing committees and BBMP Council. He will also be the representative of BBMP at the government level with regards to all communications, meetings and committees.

Special Commissioners and Additional Commissioners

Along with the powers already delegated, the four Special Commissioners and Additional Commissioners will have the power under law to take decisions regarding all proposals in the two zones assigned to them. Also, limited to the two zones assigned, the complete financial power of the Commissioner has also been assigned to the Special Commissioners and Additional Commissioners in charge of zones, pertaining to subjects like Zonal engineering works, Solid Waste Management, Street lights, Zonal Projects, Housing, Town Planning (Zonal), maintenance of assets, Welfare, Education, Forest, Horticulture, Health etc. Also, the Special Commissioners and Additional Commissioners will have the complete responsibility of revenue collection, including property tax and other revenue matters as well as advertisement revenues.

Because of the decentralisation of powers as above, Solid Waste Management and Revenue Collection will be dealt at the level of zones, and the Commissioner can now concentrate on critical issues such as policy making, implementation of mega projects, development of infrastructure etc.These measures will help in overall improvement in administration of BBMP, increased efficiency and timely implementation of projects.

[This article is based on a press release from BBMP, and has been republished here with minimal edits]


  1. Mr Ganesh says:

    Decentralization will not work well.. BBMP must be dismantled bring privet people to work

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: East Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

BJP candidate Harsh Malhotra is up against AAP candidate Kuldeep Kumar in East Delhi. Take a look at their profiles and of others in the fray.

Table of contentsAbout the constituencyMap of the constituencyFind your polling boothIncumbent MP : Gautam Gambhir, BJPOnline presenceCriminal casesPositions HeldPerformance in ParliamentMPLAD funds utilisationCandidates contesting in 2024Key candidates in the newsIssues of the constituencyAlso read About the constituency East Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency is one of the seven parliamentary constituencies in the Indian National Capital Territory of Delhi. Constituted in 1966, it is one of the most densely populated constituencies with a population of around 25 lakh. It comprises the following areas: Gandhi Nagar, Shahdara, Krishna Nagar, Laxmi Nagar Vishwas Nagar, Patparganj, Janpura, Trilokpuri (SC), Kondli (SC) and Okhla.  As of…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha elections 2024: South Delhi — Know your constituency and candidates

Ramvir Singh Bidhuri of the BJP is contesting the South Delhi seat in place of sitting MP Ramesh Bidhuri. Who is he up against?

About the constituency Established in 1966, South Delhi Constituency is Delhi’s fourth largest constituency in terms of number of voters and is made up of Bijwasan, Palam, Mehrauli, Chhatarpur, Deoli (SC), Ambedkar Nagar (SC), Sangam Vihar, Kalkaji, Tughlakabad and Badarpur. The villages are largely dominated by the Gujjar community. It’s an upmarket area and is often referred to as the financial capital of the state. As of January 2024, the constituency had around 22.21 lakh voters, including roughly 12.34 lakh men and 9.86 lakh women, many of whom live in the urban villages or unauthorised colonies. This constituency had BJP’s…