BBMP seeks help in each ward; increases fine on plastic ban violators

BBMP has put its foot down to make the implementation of plastic ban a success. However, ward level citizen volunteers are an essential ingredient in the success of plastic ban and scientific waste management.

Joint Commissioner- East Yatish Kumar inspecting and penalising shops that violated plastic ban. Pic courtesy: SWM volunteers team

Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike has put its foot once again to show that plastic ban is here to stay, unlike many earlier instances of plastic ban notifications that were ineffective. With the National Green Tribunal postponing the hearing of petition against plastic ban to July 15, 2016, BBMP has released a notification that orders heavy fine on violators. The revised fines are listed below:

Fines for manufacturing and sale of banned plastic items
Criteria Fine for first time offense Fine for second time offense
Manufacturing Rs 2,00,000 Rs 5,00,000
Storage Rs 1,00,000 Rs 2,00,000
Selling Rs 50,000 Rs 1,00,000
Commercial users Rs 25,000 Rs 50,000
Domestic users Rs 500 Rs 1000

The notification has also empowered the Joint Commissioners, BBMP Revenue Officers, all BBMP engineers to seize and fine the violators, along with health officers, thus giving more hands for the system to monitor violations. The entire notification can be seen here:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Stalled projects, discrimination by Centre hurting Mumbai: Incumbent MP Arvind Sawant

Arvind Sawant is contesting for the third time from Mumbai South and is confident of winning the seat for Uddhav Thackeray's Sena.

Arvind Sawant, who has served two terms as the MP from Mumbai South, is raring to go as he prepares to fight for a third term. His opponents are a divided house and the official candidate is yet to be announced here. Leaders such as Rahul Narwekar, Mangal Prabhat Lodha, Yeshwant Jadhav are eyeing this seat. So is Milind Deora, who has already been nominated to the Rajya Sabha now and had previously lost to Sawant in the two Lok Sabha elections in 2014 and 2019.  Mumbai South is comprised of the assembly constituencies of Colaba, Mumbadevi, Byculla, Malabar Hill,…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Know your MP – P C Mohan, Bangalore Central Constituency

With a long history in politics, the three-time MP, P C Mohan, is all set to contest from Bangalore Central constituency.

P. Chikkamuni Mohan or P C Mohan, from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), is a three-time Lok Sabha MP representing Bangalore Central constituency. He was the MLA of Chickpet assembly constituency for two terms, from 1999 to 2008. He got elected as MP in the 15th (2009), 16th (2014) and 17th (2019) Lok Sabha elections from Bangalore Central. As per this report card In 2019, Mohan got 6,02,853 votes (50.35%); while his rival Rizwan Arshad of Indian National Congress (INC) got 5,31,885 votes (44.43%). In 2014, Mohan got 51.85 % of the 10,74,602 votes cast in Bangalore Central constituency. He…