Bangalore Central independent candidate Prakash Raj: “We need an MP who will be the voice of citizens”

Actor Prakash Raj, contesting as an independent from Bangalore Central, is known to be an outspoken critic of right wing politics. In this interview with Citizen Matters, he discusses how his work as an MP will be different from the norm, and how he will deal with the issues plaguing Bengaluru

Actor and film personality Prakash Raj is contesting from Bangalore Central constituency as an independent candidate. He will be facing two-term BJP MP P C Mohan, Congress candidate and MLC Rizwan Arshad, and 19 other candidates.

Prakash Raj grew up in Shanthi Nagar, near the centre of the city. Alongside a long career in theatre and films, he had also been involved in social service, having adopted villages and schools. Prakash says he now wants to be the “catalyst of change for a larger section of society than just the one-off village or school.”

While he is no stranger to the limelight, Prakash Raj has been more in the news the last few years for speaking out against right wing politics, especially after the murder of his friend and journalist Gowri Lankesh, an outspoken critic of right wing groups.

Multilingual and articulate, Prakash has been reaching out to a large number of citizens in the constituency. The Aam Aadmi Party, which is not contesting in Bengaluru, has extended support to him.

Prakash has taken strong positions, and shared his views on many issues from #Metoo campaign to Sabarimala controversy publicly.


  • Age: 53
  • Education: PUC, BCom (Discontinued)
  • Career: Actor, Director, Producer, Social Worker


Election Symbol: Whistle

Pending Criminal Cases

Chargesheet filed on 20/12/2018, under Section 143 (punishment for unlawful assembly), 147 (punishment for rioting), 188 (disobedience to order promulgated by public servant), 341 (punishment for wrongful restraint), 149 (member of unlawful assembly guilty of offence committed in prosecution of common object), of IPC 1860. And R/W Section 37 (licensing use of loudspeaker) and 109 (penalty for contravening orders) of Karnataka Police Act, 1963.

Assets and liabilities

Year Assets Liabilities
2019 Rs 31.5 cr

(Movable: Rs 4.9 cr

Immovable: Rs 26.5 cr)

Rs 3.8 cr

Link to affidavit:

Other links

Enough of the tamasha! We need new leaders, says Prakash Raj

Karnataka is gearing up for alternative politics: Prakash Raj

Videos of interaction with citizens – Part 1, Part 2, Part 3, Part 4, Part 5, Part 6

[Meera K contributed to this article]


  1. Karan Balasundaram says:

    Good vision by Mr.Prakash Raj. He has really gotten down to the people and found out issues that are plaguing the Bangalore Central constituency. His strong positions and brave voice against non-secular forces is a refreshing change from the usual hate fueling and communal politics we’ve become accustomed to.
    My vote is for Prakash Raj this time.

  2. M N Khan says:

    Wish you all the best! You also require a vision,plan of action and effective implementation to add value in your political life.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Gig workers and heat: What do existing policies say?

In this video, activists and gig workers talk about the daily struggles of this group and the lack of facilities for them to cope with extreme weather.

This year has seen a scorching and extended summer all across the country. Tamil Nadu has been no different with the state capital, Chennai, recording 40.7 degrees Celsius in the peak of summer. As temperatures soared, the Greater Chennai Corporation issued an advisory, asking people not to step out of their homes between noon and 3 pm, and to cover their heads to protect themselves from the unbearable heat. Representative image: A food delivery worker during the pandemic. Pic: Nicholas Mirguet via Flickr But what if your job requires you to spend several hours out in the sun during peak…

Similar Story

Mumbai, meet your new MPs from neighbouring Thane and Kalyan

Thane and Kalyan voters elected MPs from Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena. Here is all you need to know about the two winning candidates.

Table of contentsThane: Naresh Mhaske, Shiv SenaElection results for Thane constituencyWho is Naresh Ganpat Mhaske?Political experienceChallenges in the Thane constituencyKey promises made by Naresh MhaskeKalyan: Dr. Shrikant Shinde, Shiv SenaElection results for Kalyan constituencyWho is Dr. Shrikant Shinde?MPLADs spending of Dr. Shrikant ShindePolitical experienceChallenges in the Kalyan constituencyKey promises made by Dr. Shrikant ShindeAlso read: Both the Thane and Kalyan constituencies have been bagged by the Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde led faction) in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The two MPs who have been elected from Thane and Kalyan are Naresh Mhaske and Dr. Shrikant Shinde respectively. Here is comprehensive…