Children thank traffic police

The Children’s Movement for Civic Awareness launched Traffic Police Day 8 years ago to appreciate the efforts of the traffic police. Throughout January, children across Bangalore will express their gratitude to traffic police personnel for their work.

Thousands of children from the Children’s Movement for Civic Awareness (CMCA), will be thanking traffic cops across the city this month. Flagging off the 8th Traffic Police Day thanksgiving in a ceremony at the Traffic Police Park on St. Marks Road on 12th January, children from private and government schools associated with CMCA presented cards, flowers, sweets and messages to traffic police personnel. The children also recited poems thanking the traffic police and interacted with constables, who enjoyed the occasion. The children also cheered and clapped for the traffic police.

Children thank traffic police personnel on Traffic Police Day (pic: CMCA)

Ajai Kumar Singh, the former Director General and Inspector General of Police, Karnataka who was present at the event, said, "CMCA has been celebrating Traffic Police Day for the past 8 years. I am very happy that Traffic Police Day was started when I was the Commissioner of Police for Bangalore". A 12-year old volunteer driven, civil society organization, CMCA mooted the novel idea of celebrating Traffic Police Day to recognize the tireless efforts of the traffic police in keeping Bangalore safe and on the move, for pedestrians and commuters alike. The Traffic Police Day also sensitizes the public that alongwith the right to safe roads and smooth traffic flow, comes the responsibility to follow road rules. M. A. Saleem, Additional Commissioner of Police, Traffic, said, "Events like these motivate us and boost the morale of the traffic police personnel to do better and be self-disciplined. For better traffic regulation, we must be transparent".

CMCA conducts a national "civic club‟ programme in schools across India to nurture active citizenship in children and youth. Throughout January, children from CMCA schools across Bangalore will visit traffic police stations and junctions near their schools to thank constables. The traffic police department will also send a wireless message from CMCA to constables thanking them. CMCA urges the citizens of the city to participate by following traffic rules and thanking a police person on duty this week.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Mumbai, meet your new MPs from neighbouring Thane and Kalyan

Thane and Kalyan voters elected MPs from Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena. Here is all you need to know about the two winning candidates.

Table of contentsThane: Naresh Mhaske, Shiv SenaElection results for Thane constituencyWho is Naresh Ganpat Mhaske?Political experienceChallenges in the Thane constituencyKey promises made by Naresh MhaskeKalyan: Dr. Shrikant Shinde, Shiv SenaElection results for Kalyan constituencyWho is Dr. Shrikant Shinde?MPLADs spending of Dr. Shrikant ShindePolitical experienceChallenges in the Kalyan constituencyKey promises made by Dr. Shrikant ShindeAlso read: Both the Thane and Kalyan constituencies have been bagged by the Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde led faction) in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The two MPs who have been elected from Thane and Kalyan are Naresh Mhaske and Dr. Shrikant Shinde respectively. Here is comprehensive…

Similar Story

Bengaluru, meet your new MPs

The BJP secured a victory in all four parliamentary constituencies in Bengaluru. Here is a detailed report on the elected MPs.

Table of contentsBangalore North: Shobha Karandlaje, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore North constituencyShobha Karandlaje's political experience Positions heldEducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore South: Tejasvi Surya, BJPAbout Bangalore South constituencyElection resultsTejasvi Surya's political experiencePositions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLAD detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore Central: PC Mohan, BJPAbout Bangalore Central constituencyElection resultsPC Mohan's political experience Positions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLADS detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in constituencyKey promisesBangalore Rural: Dr CN Manjunath, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore Rural constituencyDr. CN Manjunath's political experience EducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesAlso read The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a victory in all four Parliamentary Constituencies in Bengaluru in the 2024…