Tough cop Rajvir P Sharma transferred

The fate of 132 cases against BBMP engineers is in question with the transfer of BMTF head Rajvir P Sharma. BBMP has decided to transfer the cases against the engineers, related to the building violations, to the concerned police stations.

Rajvir P Sharma, the man who dared to take action against BBMP engineers for their inaction against building violations, has been transferred out of Bangalore Metropolitan Task Force (BMTF). J D Madhuchandra Tejaswi, Under Secretary to government, DPAR (Department of Personnel and Administrative Reforms) services, sent the transfer order to Sharma.

ADGP Rajvir Sharma. Pic: Sankar C G

According to the order, Dr P Ravindranath will assume charge as Inspector General of Police (IGP), BMTF, with immediate effect.  Ravindranath is an IPS officer of the 1989 batch of the Karnataka Cadre. He had been serving as IGP, Excise Enforcement.

ADGP Rajvir P Sharma, an IPS officer, had taken charge of BMTF nine months ago. But he soon became a headache for BBMP as he started taking action against BBMP engineers. Frustrated, BBMP Employees and Officers association had protested for three days last week. They demanded Sharma’s transfer, withdrawal of cases against the engineers, and also expected BMTF function under BBMP Commissioner.

BBMP Officers and Officials Association president S Subramanyam says BMTF cannot take action against BBMP employees without the prior permission from the Commissioner, adding “BBMP works in accordance with Karnataka Municipal Corporation Act. It is in the same way BMTF should works under Commissioner.”

When Citizen Matters contacted Reju M T, Deputy Secretary of DPAR , he said, “We have sent the transfer order to Sharma as per Chief Minister’s order. I don’t know anything more; for further information, you have to contact Chief Minister’s office.”

With Sharma’s transfer, the fate of 132 cases registered against BBMP engineers is in question. When Citizen Matters asked Sharma about this, he said, “I have to obey the government order. You better ask this question to the new officer or to the government.” Mayor D Venkatesh Murthy says, “We will transfer the cases to the concerned police stations for further investigation.”

The BMTF was formed in 1996 under the state government’s Urban Development Department (UDD) to detect and investigate offences related to illegal encroachment of government property within Bangalore Metropolitan Area. It is supposed to work as a watchdog for protection of government land. It has a police wing (prosecution), town planning wing (for inspections) and an administration wing. BMTF does not have power to take action against builders but can take action against concerned BBMP engineers.

B Radha, Deputy Director of Town Planning,  who worked with Sharma in BMTF, is sad about the transfer order. She says, “BMTF became very active after he took charge. He has guided us in the right direction and we will follow the same path.”


  1. Sankar C G says:

    Rajvir P Sharma approached Central Administrative tribunal and obtained a stay order on the transfer for two weeks.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Mumbai, meet your new MPs from neighbouring Thane and Kalyan

Thane and Kalyan voters elected MPs from Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena. Here is all you need to know about the two winning candidates.

Table of contentsThane: Naresh Mhaske, Shiv SenaElection results for Thane constituencyWho is Naresh Ganpat Mhaske?Political experienceChallenges in the Thane constituencyKey promises made by Naresh MhaskeKalyan: Dr. Shrikant Shinde, Shiv SenaElection results for Kalyan constituencyWho is Dr. Shrikant Shinde?MPLADs spending of Dr. Shrikant ShindePolitical experienceChallenges in the Kalyan constituencyKey promises made by Dr. Shrikant ShindeAlso read: Both the Thane and Kalyan constituencies have been bagged by the Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde led faction) in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The two MPs who have been elected from Thane and Kalyan are Naresh Mhaske and Dr. Shrikant Shinde respectively. Here is comprehensive…

Similar Story

Bengaluru, meet your new MPs

The BJP secured a victory in all four parliamentary constituencies in Bengaluru. Here is a detailed report on the elected MPs.

Table of contentsBangalore North: Shobha Karandlaje, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore North constituencyShobha Karandlaje's political experience Positions heldEducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore South: Tejasvi Surya, BJPAbout Bangalore South constituencyElection resultsTejasvi Surya's political experiencePositions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLAD detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore Central: PC Mohan, BJPAbout Bangalore Central constituencyElection resultsPC Mohan's political experience Positions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLADS detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in constituencyKey promisesBangalore Rural: Dr CN Manjunath, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore Rural constituencyDr. CN Manjunath's political experience EducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesAlso read The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a victory in all four Parliamentary Constituencies in Bengaluru in the 2024…