Sharadamma Ramanjaneya and S Harish are mayor and deputy

In-council elections for Bangalore's mayor and deputy mayor were held on April 29th. The ruling party had already reached a consensus and proceedings were smooth.

Shettihalli Corporator Sharadamma Ramanjaneya is Bengaluru’s new mayor. Pic: Navya P K.

Shettihalli Corporator Sharadamma Ramanjaneya and Nagapura Corporator S Harish are now Mayor and Deputy Mayor for Bangalore in 2011-12. Elections held on Friday April 29th were smooth as the ruling party had already reached a consensus and no additional nominations were filed.

When asked about her plans for the city, Sharadamma said, "The city will be beautified. Managing garbage and managing storm water drains to prevent flooding during rains, will be priorities. Welfare measures will be introduced for women, disabled and other minorities."

Sharadamma flanked by BJP women workers after the Council meeting. Pic: Navya P K.

Celebrations began at the BJP office in the Council building soon after the nominations were filed. A formal announcement was made about two hours later at the council session at 12.30 pm.

Deputy Mayor S Harish speaking to media after the nominations. Pic: Navya P K.

As nominations had to be filed for electing of Standing Committee (SC) members, the ruling and opposition members could not arrive at a consensus. There are 12 SCs in BBMP, each comprising 11 corporators. The session was adjourned for post-lunch, but was later adjourned to Saturday. The formal reason given for this was that not enough members turned up for the post-lunch session, though officials acknowledged that lack of consensus was the reason.

Ruling and opposition parties discussing nominations for Standing Committees (SCs). The discussions took long and the SC elections were adjouned to Saturday. Pic: Navya P K.

Taxation and Finance Committee members have already been selected. Opposition lead M Nagaraj later said that Congress will have the same members as last year in all SCs; there are four Congress members in each SC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Know your MP — Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma, West Delhi

Parvesh Verma, who is the son of former Delhi chief minister Sahib Singh Verma, has made rapid progress in the BJP in past decade.

Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma is the incumbent MP for West Delhi Lok Sabha Constituency. He is a member of the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party and has won from West Delhi twice, in 2014 and 2019. Parvesh Verma is one of the many rising young stars in the BJP, who got elected in 2014 at the age of 36. He is the son of the former chief minister of Delhi, Sahib Singh Verma. He also served as an MLA, getting elected from Mehrauli in 2013. With the rise of Narendra Modi and the advent of AAP in Delhi, Verma got elected…

Similar Story

Lok Sabha 2024: Know your MP – Manoj Kumar Tiwari, North East Delhi

Former Bhojpuri actor Manoj Kumar Tiwari has represented the North East Delhi constituency for two consecutive terms. A look at his last tenure

Manoj Kumar Tiwari is a two-time Lok Sabha member representing the North East Delhi constituency. He was an actor-singer in the Bhojpuri film industry. He began his political career with the Samajwadi Party; he contested and lost the 2009 Lok Sabha election from Gorakhpur constituency in Uttar Pradesh. He then joined the BJP in 2013, contesting the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections from North East Delhi Constituency, and emerging victorious in both.   Read more: Lok Sabha 2024: A people’s manifesto for urban areas In 2019, Tiwari got 53.9% of the 16,35,204 votes cast in the constituency, which was 25%…