23 of 25 skywalks planned by BDA still up in the air

No firm has bid for BDA’s tenders for skywalks on Outer Ring Road, through PPP. BDA wanted the firms to pay over Rs 99 Lakhs per skywalk for 20 years, in addition to building and maintaining it. Now what?

The BDA tender makes it mandatory to leave some space to make the skywalk path visible from beneath the road. Pic: Shree D N

The Bangalore Development Authority (BDA) wants to improve pedestrian experience on Outer Ring Road by building 25 skywalks. However, the plan has hit a deadlock, after there were no bids or expressions of interest put up by anyone for the tender to construct 23 of these.

Jayashankar Reddy, Executive engineer, BDA, told Citizen Matters that no applications were made for the tenders the BDA had called for, to construct pedestrian these pedestrian skywalks. The BDA plans to call for tenders again, after revising the tender to relax some conditions to make it more attractive to the investors, said Reddy.

P N Nayak, Engineer Member, BDA, confirmed that 23 of the 25 skywalks received no bids, while the two that did—at Kammanahalli and Babusabpalya— are presently under construction.  

Early this year, in the month of January, the BDA had called for tenders to construct pedestrian skywalks, complete with escalators, at the following 25 locations:

Sl. No



Manyata Tech park


Ecospace business park


Kadubeesanahalli New Horizon Collage On ORR


Marathahalli Innovative Multiplex on ORR


Marathahalli (Kalamandir) On ORR


HSR Layout (Swati Restaurant) On ORR


Kadubeesanahalli New Horizon Collage On ORR


HSR Layout (Swati Restaurant) On ORR


Ibbalur junction on ORR


Nagarabhavi 1st stage ITI Layout on ORR






K R Puram (near Shanty)






Devinagar Cross


Yogeshnagar Cross near Hebbal


Lunmini Garden


HBR layout (near Ambedkar grounds)


Banaswadi underbridge


Vijaya Bank colony


Central Silk Board Bus Stand


BEL underbridge


Nagarbhavi Village



BDA had quoted Rs 99,20,000/- as the minimum amount the party undertaking the project has to pay over the span of twenty years to the BDA. The bidder quoting the highest price over this minimum, after meeting the eligibility criteria and making a proposal satisfactory to BDA, was to be awarded the contract.

Apart from paying this sum to BDA, the successful bidder was also expected to bear the expenses involved in construction of the structure and its maintenance for the next twenty years.

In return, the successful bidder will be granted advertising rights on the skywalk. At the end of the first twenty years, the skywalk, along with all the responsibilities and rights—including those on advertisements—will be transferred to the BDA free of any charge and free from all encumbrances.   

The total expenditure on the project borne by the successful bidder over these twenty years deducted from the total revenue generated by advertising on the skywalk was to be the profit made out of the venture.

However, there have been no interested parties in the venture. Hence the BDA is planning to call for tenders yet again, after considering making concessions or relaxation of conditions that might attract bidders.

The project was in fact announced in the last state budget tabled in February 2015, as a public-private partnership project. Reddy informed Citizen Matters that no money has been allocated for this project.

Related Articles

These are the 54 skywalks coming up in Bengaluru
Can skywalks be made convenient and safe?
Sarjapur Road: No entry for pedestrians!
It’s all dust, smoke and bad roads for pedestrians, while flyover takes shape

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Mumbai, meet your new MPs from neighbouring Thane and Kalyan

Thane and Kalyan voters elected MPs from Eknath Shinde's Shiv Sena. Here is all you need to know about the two winning candidates.

Table of contentsThane: Naresh Mhaske, Shiv SenaElection results for Thane constituencyWho is Naresh Ganpat Mhaske?Political experienceChallenges in the Thane constituencyKey promises made by Naresh MhaskeKalyan: Dr. Shrikant Shinde, Shiv SenaElection results for Kalyan constituencyWho is Dr. Shrikant Shinde?MPLADs spending of Dr. Shrikant ShindePolitical experienceChallenges in the Kalyan constituencyKey promises made by Dr. Shrikant ShindeAlso read: Both the Thane and Kalyan constituencies have been bagged by the Shiv Sena (Eknath Shinde led faction) in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. The two MPs who have been elected from Thane and Kalyan are Naresh Mhaske and Dr. Shrikant Shinde respectively. Here is comprehensive…

Similar Story

Bengaluru, meet your new MPs

The BJP secured a victory in all four parliamentary constituencies in Bengaluru. Here is a detailed report on the elected MPs.

Table of contentsBangalore North: Shobha Karandlaje, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore North constituencyShobha Karandlaje's political experience Positions heldEducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore South: Tejasvi Surya, BJPAbout Bangalore South constituencyElection resultsTejasvi Surya's political experiencePositions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLAD detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesBangalore Central: PC Mohan, BJPAbout Bangalore Central constituencyElection resultsPC Mohan's political experience Positions held:EducationCriminal recordMPLADS detailsAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in constituencyKey promisesBangalore Rural: Dr CN Manjunath, BJPElection resultsAbout Bangalore Rural constituencyDr. CN Manjunath's political experience EducationCriminal recordAssets and liabilitiesChallenges in the constituencyKey promisesAlso read The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) secured a victory in all four Parliamentary Constituencies in Bengaluru in the 2024…