Candidate background info released

Karnataka Election Watch is collecting information on candidates with criminal background and has released its first list.

The Association for Democratic Reforms (ADR)’s Karnataka Election Watch committee has compiled information about candidates in various Assembly constituencies using candidates’ own disclosure affidavits, mandated by election law. The Election Commission has also issued orders making this information public.

The Election Watch committee has now released its first list of candidates with a criminal record contesting the Assembly elections. These are people who contested last time and were re-nominated.

Record of Candidates from Bangalore (based on 2004 Affidavit Data)

1. Katta Subramanya Naidu, BJP (Hebbal): FIR. NO. 0589 CR. NO.589/03
u/s 143, 145, 147, 149 353 IPC 1860

2. Nirmal Kumar Surana, BJP (Shivaji Nagar): Case no. 589/03 under sec. 143,145, 147, 149, 353: Dtd : 29/09/03: at 10th ACMM bangalore

3. S Suresh Kumar, BJP (Rajaji Nagar): FIR No. CR. No. 631/96, registered at High Grounds Police Station, Bangalore . Charged under Section 143,147,148,323,332,324,353,427 R/W 149 of IPC and Section 108 of Karnataka Police Act – Political Demonstration against Beauty Pageant, under the VIII ACMM Bangalore Court. Case no: CC/ 8659/97

4. N L Narendrababu, INC (Mahalakshmi Layout): FIR No. CC.No. 16626/2000, 16561/2001.
Registered at Mahalakshmi Layout Police Station, Nandini Layout Police Station, Bangalore. Charge sheeted under Section 3 of Karnataka Open Place Prevention and Disfiguration Act, 1981 for displaying Election Banner at Busstop. Chargesheet framed Section 143,147,447,148 Rioting with deadly weapons of IPC for having lead a protest rally against illegal allotment of land meant for Public use 7th ACMM Bangalore.

5. V Somanna, INC (Govindarajnagar): FIR no pcr101/2002 /C.C 6704/2002 IPC 500 Punishment for defamation court III ACMM

6. S. Shivappa, JD(S) (Gandhinagar): u/s 418, 424, 468, 420, CC No.20675/99

7. B Z Zameer Ahmed Khan, JD(S) (Chamarajpet): Accused in case no CC15036/2002 charge not framed yet.

State-wide summary

Karnataka Election Watch, 2008
  BJP Congress JD(S)
Candidates with criminal records in 2004 elections 49 24 39
Candidates re-nominated this time for 2008* 24 10 12
Murder and attempt to murder cases in re-nominated list 2 2 1
*New candidates put up this time are not included. That list will be released later

Preventing electoral malpractices

The election commission has laid down several rules: candidates are required to file statements during elections about their electoral expenses. The public can inform Election Observers directly about any electoral malpractice (distributing money, gifts, liquor, providing transport, paying voters’ bills etc).

Information on Election Observers are provided at:, and also at


Update [7 May 2008]

Election Watch has released the background information of all candidates contesting in the Phase 1 polls. Click here.

ADR is a non-political, non-partisan group that has been working on improving governance and strengthening democracy in India. This ADR-initiated election watch initiative arose directly out of a Supreme Court Judgment in May 2002 and March 2003 on its petition on criminalisation of politics

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

Will prioritise ORR, suburban rail: Mansoor Ali Khan, Congress candidate, Bangalore Central

Mansoor Ali Khan claims that it's time for a 'guarantee wave', not a 'Modi wave'. He says he will prioritise education and infrastructure.

Mansoor Ali Khan, from Indian National Congress (INC), is all set to contest for Bangalore Central Parliamentary Constituency this Lok Sabha Elections. In an interview with Citizen Matters, Mansoor spoke about his plans for his constituency if he gets elected as MP and the key issues he would like to address. Mansoor Ali Khan: Political family, educational entrepreneur Mansoor Ali Khan is the son of K. Rahman Khan, who is a veteran politician belonging to the Indian National Congress (INC) and a former Union Minister of Minority Affairs and Ex-Deputy Chairman of Rajya Sabha. Mansoor was one of the two…

Similar Story

Stalled projects, discrimination by Centre hurting Mumbai: Incumbent MP Arvind Sawant

Arvind Sawant is contesting for the third time from Mumbai South and is confident of winning the seat for Uddhav Thackeray's Sena.

Arvind Sawant, who has served two terms as the MP from Mumbai South, is raring to go as he prepares to fight for a third term. His opponents are a divided house and the official candidate is yet to be announced here. Leaders such as Rahul Narwekar, Mangal Prabhat Lodha, Yeshwant Jadhav are eyeing this seat. So is Milind Deora, who has already been nominated to the Rajya Sabha now and had previously lost to Sawant in the two Lok Sabha elections in 2014 and 2019.  Mumbai South is comprised of the assembly constituencies of Colaba, Mumbadevi, Byculla, Malabar Hill,…