Yeshvanthapura by-election: Info on candidates, constituency and more

S T Somashekar, who had become the Congress MLA from Yeshvanthapura in 2018, is now back as the BJP candidate. His rivals here are T N Javarayi Gowda of the JD(S) and P Nagaraj of the Congress

Elected on a Congress ticket from Yeshvanthapura in the Karnataka Assembly polls 2018, MLA S T Somashekar was among the 17 legislators disqualified by former Speaker K R Ramesh Kumar, under the anti-defection law. Since Supreme Court allowed these MLAs to contest the bypolls, Somashekar is now contesting as the BJP candidate from Yeshvanthapura.

Know your candidates

Twelve candidates are contesting from Yeshvanthapura constituency. The nominations of two other candidates had been rejected.

Following are the major candidates:

P Nagaraj

Indian National Congress

  • Family: Spouse and one dependant
  • Educational qualification: SSLC (discontinued)
  • Profession: Self-employed
  • Pending criminal cases: Nil
  • Net worth
    • Total assets: Rs 26.79 crore
    • Moveable assets: Rs 24.79 cr
    • Immovable assets: Rs 2 cr
    • Liabilities: Rs 3.55 cr
S T Somashekar

Bharatiya Janata Party

  • Family: Spouse and one dependant
  • Educational qualification: B Sc
  • Profession: Private transportation
  • Online:
  • Pending criminal cases: Nil
  • Net worth
    • Total assets: Rs 18.17 cr
    • Movable assets: Rs 2.55 cr
    • Immovable assets: Rs 15.62 cr
    • Liabilities: Rs 1.54 cr
T N Javarayi Gowda

Janata Dal (Secular)

  • Family: Wife
  • Educational qualification: SSLC
  • Profession: Businessman
  • Online:
  • Pending criminal cases: Nil
  • Net worth
    • Total assets:  Rs 37.9 cr
    • Movable assets: Rs 19.2 cr
    • Immovable assets: Rs 18.6 cr
    • Liabilities: Rs 34.6 cr

Tracking Yeshwanthpur MLA S T Somashekar (2018 pre-poll analysis)

Full list of candidates

Candidate Party Symbol
P NAGARAJ, 46, SSLC (discontinued), Self-employed Indian National Congress Hand
S T SOMASHEKAR, 62, B Sc, Private transportation Bharatiya Janata Party Lotus
T N JAVARAYI GOWDA, 61, Businessman Janata Dal (Secular) Lady farmer carrying paddy on her head
HANUMANTHA M (KOTE), 40 Independent Diamond
KRISHNAIAH, 46, 9th std, Self-employed Karnataka Rashtra Samithi Whistle
G VENUGOPAL, 54, BE (Instrumentation), Business in electronics Independent Coconut farm
N BEERESH, 26, SSLC, Self-employed Independent Sewing machine
SARVAMANGALA G, 29 Independent Cup and saucer
C R NAGARAJU, 49, SSLC Bharatiya Prajagala Kalyana Paksha Bat
SRIVENKATESWAR MAHA SWAMIJI (KATAKADHOND D G), 32, B Com, Social worker Hindustan Janta Party Tractor chalata kisan
MANJUNATHA M, 33, SSLC, Agriculturist Uttama Prajaakeeya Party Autorickshaw

Results of 2018 election

In the previous assembly election, S T Somashekhar won 1,15,273 votes in this constituency, or over 40 percent of the vote share. The runner-up, T N Javarayi Gowda of JD(S) secured 1,04,562 (36.41 percent) votes. Jaggesh of BJP stood third with just 59,308 (20.65 percent) votes.

Name Sex Age Category Party General votes Postal votes Total votes % votes
S T Somashekhar M 60 Gen INC 1,15,085 88 1,15,273 40.14
T N Javarayi Gowda M 59 Gen JD(S) 1,04,385 177 1,04,562 36.41
Jaggesh M 55 Gen BJP 59,148 160 59,308 20.65
NOTA 1,453 0 1,453 0.51


About the constituency

Yeshvanthapura assembly constituency comprises five wards – Dodda Bidarakallu, Herohalli, Hemmigepura, Kengeri and Ullalu. Being on the periphery of the city, the constituency has a mix of urban and rural characteristics. It is mostly a residential area, yet has been denied basic facilities such as Cauvery water supply, good transport, roads and underground drainage.

Five of the 12 waste disposal units in the city are located here, so the soil as well as water is heavily contaminated and citizens frequently complain of health issues. This constituency is also one of the four in Bengaluru that has the highest number of voters.

Total number of registered voters: 4,80,953

Registered voters in the 2018 election: 4,53,557

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Similar Story

All you need to know about property documentation in Bengaluru

Part 1 of the Citizen Matters event report on property documentation outlines the process required for new property buyers in Bengaluru.

(This article is part 1 of a three-part event report series)  All property transactions in Bengaluru have to mandatorily be registered with the government. This is important as it provides buyers with essential safeguards; enhances transparency due to the requirement of comprehensive project disclosures; establishes standard practices; and provides mechanisms for dispute resolution. The government has brought in multiple legislations over the years. While it has brought in some level of streamlining of the process, a lot is left to be desired. There are several types of property, which means you will need to deal with different agencies. In a…

Similar Story

BBMP’s Kere Mitra: Bridging gaps or missing the point?

This initiative looks to foster a motivated group of lake volunteers in Bengaluru. But will it accomplish the ultimate goal of lake rejuvenation?

In 2023, the BBMP launched Kere Mitra (lake friend) to ensure transparency in lake management. It was introduced to bridge the gap between citizens and the authorities in the daily maintenance of lakes, which fall under BBMP's custody. The Kere Mitras or lake volunteers are selected for a period of three months. While some were satisfied with the programme, others expressed their reservations about the selection process and lack of training. However, is the initiative achieving its intended goals? The BBMP seems satisfied with the applications. The next phase of Kere Mitra will not be open to new applicants. "In…